PDA

View Full Version : best *nix distro to run maya, nuke and houdini?

DEVILSAN
11-10-2012, 06:27 AM
Hello friends,
I am a freelancer and want to install a linux OS on one of my intel based machine, can anyone tell me what distro should I pick onto what I can get maximum compatibility with Maya, Nuke and Houdini ? what i want if anything goes wrong their is easy to fix solution on the web ...

cgbeige
11-10-2012, 03:37 PM
I use CentOS 6.3 because it requires little-to-no additional dependency installation for Maya support out of the box. Houdini and Nuke run with no additional installation as well. Don't get Ubuntu - it's a lot more of a pain in the ass to set up for Maya

AJ1
11-10-2012, 05:12 PM
This thread has some good info:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=2&t=1079174

I use Fedora 16 and KDE for Maya, but I think Houdini was built on a debian-based system.

Autodesk only supports their wares on RedHat/Fedora, but Maya should work fine on any .rpm based setup like SUSE. You can get it going on a debian-based system as well, but its sketchier.

Its a lot of work to get it going, but if you use a SSD, the performance enhancements are worth it. Make sure to keep your windows installation though.

Its tough to give an exact answer. Just start downloading distros and testing them out. I tired OpenSUSE, Ubuntu, and CentOS before I settled on Fedora.

-AJ

olson
11-11-2012, 05:26 AM