PDA

View Full Version : School lookout

khcarballo
11-06-2012, 05:24 PM
Hey all.

I'm currently a high school student, and I'm getting pretty close to graduation. I kept my mind open and learned about a lot of career paths throughout high school before deciding I wanted to specialize in 3D art a good while back. If I had to pick my favorite area of 3D art, it would be environment modelling. I'm really fascinated, for example, by Blizzard's cinematics. Their work really inspires me.

Right now, I'm looking for some colleges/universities that offer undergraduate degrees in 3D/Digital Art. I've read a lot about Full Sail, and I love the fact it's a school made just for art. Not only that, but it's practically no-fluff since the Computer Animation degree is accelerated and doesn't have all the impractical classes so many of the other universities do. I can't help but notice, though, how so many of the students there don't end up in the field. If I were to go to FS and bust my butt to get the degree, would it be worth all that money? Would companies of the field really want to hire someone from there?

Besides Full Sail, I'm considering UCF. I do know the school has a 3D Program, I'm just not exactly sure what it's called. Apart from these two schools, however, I'd really appreciate more suggestions. I'm trying to be extremely cautious about what school I do decide on because it's a lot of things to consider. If you have any advice at all to give me, feel free.

Thanks. :)
K

taxguy
11-06-2012, 09:36 PM
Before I can make recommendations, I need a few question answered:

1. What state are you from?
2. How is your family finances? Can your parents pay the full tuition or will the tuition require loans?
3. What is your artistic background? Do you have a strong portfolio? What are your grades and SAT or ACT scores?

khcarballo
11-07-2012, 09:00 PM
Before I can make recommendations, I need a few question answered:

1. What state are you from?