PDA

View Full Version : School or Self taught?

darthrevan
11-01-2012, 07:55 PM
Hello. I need some help deciding if being self-taught is better for me than going to an art school.
I know of 2 art schools that are reported to be very good, but also very expensive. The Gnomon School of Visual Effects, and the Vancouver Film School. The 2 year program at Gnomon is $66,075. And the 3D animation & visual effects at VFS is $53,250. Are they worth it? Or should I be self taught? Here is some work that I have done over the past year with the experience of a bit of thegnomonworkshop and digital tutors training. http://lordrevan9.deviantart.com/gallery/ (http://lordrevan9.deviantart.com/gallery/)
I am 16 and have a little over a of year experience in maya and 5 months in zbrush. Should I get a job and save for school? Or spend the next few years doing CGWorkshops and Training? Any advice would be appreciated :)

Andrewty07
11-01-2012, 08:19 PM
It's a pretty personal decision though very good that you are considering it so early. There is no right or wrong approach as if your work is exceptional it will speak for itself regardless of other school credentials. I would suggest picking 4-5 ideal jobs you would want in the future and look at reels/artists work for that studio. That is the level you want to shoot for in quality, then figure out if you can have the personal drive and time management to teach yourself or if you would be better off in a structured educational program.

My personal approach was working to pay for school before going full time, I ended up doing both with school part time to knock out generic credits and teaching myself techniques in free time. The surprise for me was having small job offers and projects pop up here and there already just from networking before I had been to a formal school.

Ephisus
11-01-2012, 08:47 PM
I don't think formal schooling is worth it unless you are studying a hard science.

darthrevan
11-01-2012, 09:01 PM