PDA

View Full Version : Free education


Andrewty07
10-30-2012, 05:32 PM
Many individuals routinely ask about investing in schooling from formal institutions or online resources. There are plenty online solutions to learn and gain insight on many areas useful for today's CG artist regardless of specialty. Every great artist I have met has reminded me that you are never "done" you are always learning and progressing, this mindset will help guarantee your success.

Art history courses from Khan Academy (http://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/art-history)

Programming courses from Coursera (various universities providing this) (https://www.coursera.org/category/cs-programming)

Music, Film and audio composition courses from Coursera (https://www.coursera.org/category/music)

Video Copilot (http://www.videocopilot.net/tutorials/)-visual effects and primarily covers Adobe After Effects and compositing

Creative Cow (http://library.creativecow.net/)- thousands of useful tutorials and information

Red Giant (http://www.redgiantsoftware.com/videos/) - many tutorial videos

Matt Kohr's training (http://vimeo.com/user4943031/videos)/Ctrl+Paint (http://www.ctrlpaint.com/)-very high quality training for free in traditional and digital drawing/painting

Animation Master Class (http://www.youtube.com/user/3dmasterclass)- couple high quality animation training videos

Animation Methods (http://www.youtube.com/user/AnimationMethods/videos?flow=grid&view=0)- extensive animation/texturing/modeling video tutorials

FZD School of Design (http://www.youtube.com/user/FZDSCHOOL/videos?view=0)- Numerous digital drawing videos

Indy Mogul (http://www.youtube.com/user/indymogul/videos?view=0)-low budget practical effects videos tutorials

Learn Maya (http://www.youtube.com/user/Learnmaya1/videos?view=0)-extensive Maya video tutorials

Maya Learning (http://www.youtube.com/user/MayaHowTos/videos?flow=grid&view=0)-even more Maya video tutorials

mstarktv (http://www.youtube.com/user/mstarktv/videos?flow=grid&view=0)- high quality rendering/compositing tutorials with Max\Fume\Mental Ray

Zbro (http://www.youtube.com/user/zbro365/videos?flow=grid&view=0)- Zbrush video tutorials

Film Riot (http://www.youtube.com/user/filmriot/videos?view=0)-VFX and practical effects video tutorials/webshow

Molecular Movies (http://www.molecularmovies.com/pages/bysoftware/)-Medical animation/modeling

These are all resources I have used or routinely keep up with, if you have more please share and I will add them.

CGTalk Moderation
10-30-2012, 05:32 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.