PDA

View Full Version : PySide for Maya 2011 -x64 - Windows 7

EverZen
10-29-2012, 11:56 PM
Hi Guys,

Does anyone know of a link for a version of PySide for Maya 2011-x64 on Windows?

I am pretty new to both Python and PySide (PyQt), but as I am working with Nuke and Maya, the lure of having a since scripting language and UI setup is just too strong. I really want to try and get it to work......

So here it what I have tried:

Firstly there is an amazing site for setting up PyQt by Nathan Horne:

http://nathanhorne.com/?p=451

This has complete setup examples, and lovely links to all the versions of Python and PyQt that you need to get things going. I have worked through this example and everything is working wonderfully.

However, for licensing reasons, and because Nuke 6.3v8 seems to have embedded PySide into it, I would really love to get PySide working on the current version of Maya that we use.

As far as I understand it, to have a neat setup, I need a 64bit version of Python, so when testing and installing packages for Maya 2011-x64 everything is on the same wavelength. No problems we can grab this from here:

http://www.python.org/ftp/python/2.6.4/python-2.6.4.amd64.msi

Now, to match Maya we need a PySide install that matches both python 2.6.4 (version in Maya 2011x64). However we need this compiled for x64. This is the first problem because PySide do not seem to supply 64bit compiled versions for windows:

http://qt-project.org/wiki/PySide_Binaries_Windows

Boo!

However, the version they are also offering is too new! Since as far as I can understand it, this version is PySide-1.1.2, which is compiled against a version newer than Qt4.7.3 - which is the version that is used in Maya. So looking into it the versions that are compiled against Qt4.7.3 are: PySide 1.0.3, and apparently there is a version for PySide 1.0.6 too. These discoveries mainly came from this thread in relation to Maya 2012: