PDA

View Full Version : Work with the script editor

zoharl
10-28-2012, 06:38 PM
Okay, this is the most noob question, but since I'm a maya noob, and up until now I have worked with notepad++, I'll allow myself: ;)

When I write something in the script editor it's executed with the keypad enter, but the script is gone. How do I make it stay??

MMighe
10-28-2012, 07:08 PM
Ctrl + Enter

zaskar
10-28-2012, 07:21 PM
Either use numpad enter or the other one in combination with CTRL

zoharl
10-28-2012, 07:59 PM
To execute the script, but how do I prevent the editor from deleting the script (clearing the editor)?

NaughtyNathan
10-28-2012, 08:09 PM
if you select (highlight)something in the script editor it will only execute that highlighted code when you press Enter. A side-effect of this is that it doesn't clear the code either (it would be stupid to clear it in this case because you couldn't test individual lines of code from a larger section)

So to retain code simply highlight it first, and a quick way to preserve/execute the entire lot is to press Ctrl-A to `select all` before pressing Enter.

zaskar
10-28-2012, 08:16 PM
Yeah, my fault, assumed highlighting as the obvious.

zoharl
10-28-2012, 08:25 PM
Okay... And this is how you work? :surprised

zaskar
10-28-2012, 08:30 PM
Now ctrl-a is quickly done...

djx
10-28-2012, 09:29 PM
Okay... And this is how you work?
Yes. Fast. Easy. Simple. :cool:
I have somewhere between 10 and 20 tabs at any one time, named for each of the tasks I'm working on. They are really for quick development and for running small snippets of code. Often for testing something, or doing a simple task.

For full script writing I use Sublime Text 2, but the maya script editor is still essential.

David

ristopuukko
10-29-2012, 05:57 AM
Zoharl,

If you need to have better external editing capabilities,
you could check out Cutter: www.fundza.com .

/risto

stallion151
10-29-2012, 06:15 AM