PDA

View Full Version : Printing concept art

BMunchausen
12-05-2003, 04:10 PM
Hi all!
I hope someone can help me. I'm new to digital painting, and I've been working on some new pieces. I'm working mainly with Photoshop's oil brushes, which emulate the effects of oil painting quite well - onscreen, but these effects are not carried through well to the printed image.

I know enough about printing artwork to convert from RGB to CMYK and to work at a high enough resolution for printing - however, when I print, my images go kind of flat looking, blurryish and grainy.

Is there a better paper to print on than others - glossy vs matte, etc? Or if I took them to a print shop, would they print out better than on my rinky dink inkjet printer? Or is it just that the more painterly effects in Photoshop don't translate to the printed image?
Thanks so much ahead of time....

halo
12-05-2003, 06:01 PM
a good printer should reproduce what you have on screen in CYMK. Stock will make a difference, cheap matte paper will soak up inks and allow them to spread and merge making them look duller. I have an old epson stylus pro, which with photo glossy paper does pretty fantastic prints which give a very good representation of on screen images. Theres probably a more up to date version of this.

With certain printers and ink types its often better to print from RGB as well.

Local print shops may not print as well as you can on printers like these as their printers maybe geared up for speed and large amounts rather than quality and the slow speed offered by inkjet.

nojobnoodlez
12-05-2003, 06:08 PM
Hi Baron,

You may want to show a part of your original and a scan of the printout so we can really see what's going on.

It sounds like more of a printer problem to me. Make sure you keep using a high resolution, 300dpi or higher.