PDA

View Full Version : dot product-3 with mirrored UVs

EricChadwick
12-05-2003, 01:30 PM
I'm an artist that has been working with normal mapping for a little while now, but have been stymied about how to fix the inverted normals I get when using mirrored UV texture coordinates.

Some game artists have hinted on other forums about how their programming team overcame this issue, but they have been reluctant to explain how it actually works.

I wonder if anyone here could enlighten me, so I could have a more intelligent conversation with my programmers, and ask the right questions about implementing this kind of feature.

playmesumch00ns
12-06-2003, 10:46 AM
I assume you're doing this in shader?

Just check to see if the normal and eye vectors are pointing in opposite directions. If they are, you're ok, otherwise flip the normal (i.e. N = -N ) so it's pointing towards the camera.

If this is for a game engine then you're likely backface culling anyway, so back-facing normal should never ever happen.

Hope this helps, tell me if I've misunderstood

dead_eye
12-06-2003, 01:08 PM
when you mirror a polygon, the normals aren't fully inverted, just on one axis. thus doing a normal map with only 1/2 the model makes it look like light is shining on it from different directions. i bet you they do something really simple, like doing a normal map for each side and then averaging them, or they just play with it in photoshop. i really doubt they do any tweaking of the Sobel filters in the ATI code. there's a guy who gets on gdalg who's really good at this stuff, Tom Forsyth tomf@muckyfoot.com, you might want to post this there, and ask them if they do anything to the code to minimize these visual artifacts. many of us programmer hobbiests are just learning this stuff too. it's hard to keep up to date with current hardware technology without a BIG budget.

EricChadwick
12-08-2003, 02:04 PM
Alright, thanks for the info.