PDA

View Full Version : [3D]How good does the portfolio have to be to apply at college?

AndreasGalster
10-21-2012, 12:39 PM
Hi guys,
I'm a graphic designer, who was always fascinated by 3D graphics. I decided I want a change in my career, so I figured pursuing 3D graphics is the best choice for me. Now I am doing more 3D graphics in my spare time, because I want to improve my skills and prepare a portfolio in order to get accepted at a college.

I don't have a lot to show off yet, since I just started, but here's my most recent (http://andreasgalster.tumblr.com/post/34016445796/finished-the-modeling-next-up-unwrapping-adding) modeling.

I am curious how good I have to be in order to have a chance of being accepted at a college?

leigh
10-21-2012, 02:25 PM
Different colleges have different standards.

NEIL1
10-21-2012, 02:52 PM
Hi Andreas,

From my experience, I can say the quality of presentation is primarily what they evaluate, the actual material much less. Considering: If you're applying for school, obviously the work in your portfolio is not as good as you want it to be. Schools are just as aware of this.

Building a portfolio for school is a great opportunity to create the outline/blueprint of your portfolio, and then in school as you complete projects, add/replace old work with the new. Get the foundations of a portfolio in order: cv, demoreel, and breakdown sheet. Have a website that presents these materials in a user-friendly manner. It's all presentation.

I hope I'm of some help.

AndreasGalster
10-21-2012, 03:53 PM
Interesting. Should the demoreels and breakdown go together, or should they be seperated?

NEIL1
10-21-2012, 04:40 PM
IMO yes there should be a breakdown in your demoreel for each project - as long as they're not repetitive (i.e. if you have two modeling projects that used the same modeling methods, only breakdown one of them).