PDA

View Full Version : let's put the manual in order

shirudo
12-05-2003, 06:42 AM
I'm new to lightwave ,cgi and computers in general for that matter .And although I'm slowly but surely learning the ropes of 3d modeling I'm finding the answeres to the kinds of questions I have to be unneccisarily difficult to find (in the manual) for example let's say I opened modeler created an object then created another object and wanted to move it, shape it or delete it or whatever independantly from the first thing I created .how could I reselect the first element I created or join them together I feel this information should all be stated clearly in the first section on modeling but since it isn't any help I can get in regard to understanding the manual and reading it in the order it should have been written in would help alot

leigh
12-05-2003, 05:01 PM
It sounds to me like you need a crash course in the very basics of 3D. Unfortunately LW's manual is written at a more intermediate level.

I recommend looking for some tutorials online that will help you to become oriented with basic 3D principles.

SplineGod
12-05-2003, 08:26 PM
Depending on your point of view thats very true.
The manual as it stands is a pretty good reference but not great for tutorials. Its also already quite huge and mine destroys itself a little bit more each time I open it.

There are tutorials online at various places. In one of the threads at the top of the LW section theres a list somewhere of tutorials you can find online. I also have about 4 hours worth of free tutorials in quicktime format on my site (the link is in my Signature). If youre interested in a good Introduction to Intermediate Lightwave Course with online support you can check out a course I have HERE (http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/introtolightwave.htm)

Insider
12-05-2003, 08:41 PM
Shirudo -

There are plenty of resources online, especially right at www.newtek.com
Visit there, and download the interface overview tutorials.