PDA

View Full Version : workstation for 3d


Westland
10-15-2012, 06:18 PM
Hey!

I would like to use your advice guys about pc components for 3d. I was looking all over internet and I can't find decent components set up to build my 3d workstation.

olson
10-16-2012, 08:49 PM
More information is needed to be able to give you any kind of useful suggestions. Like what is the budget, what applications will be used, do you have anything already like monitors and peripherals or are you looking for a complete setup?

Westland
10-18-2012, 08:59 PM
More information is needed to be able to give you any kind of useful suggestions. Like what is the budget, what applications will be used, do you have anything already like monitors and peripherals or are you looking for a complete setup?

hey I wanna ask if geforce gtx 680 and i7 3370k will stick?

olson
10-18-2012, 09:05 PM
hey I wanna ask if geforce gtx 680 and i7 3370k will stick?

See my previous post... :curious:

Westland
10-18-2012, 10:14 PM
Sorry but last question was bit out of date so that's the reason I asked about i7 and graphic in total usage in 3d. I will be using maya and zbrush mostly. I'm aiming on 3d animation so there's question coming up if I could use that i7 3370k and gtx 680 with 2gb mem in 3d? I found completed set up with those components. I have two monitors.

olson
10-19-2012, 12:35 AM
Sorry but last question was bit out of date so that's the reason I asked about i7 and graphic in total usage in 3d. I will be using maya and zbrush mostly. I'm aiming on 3d animation so there's question coming up if I could use that i7 3370k and gtx 680 with 2gb mem in 3d? I found completed set up with those components. I have two monitors.

That processor is a quad core, depending on the budget there are also six core processors that will work with that system that are not that much more expensive. Be sure to get a fair amount of memory as well (12 or more GB), also depending on the budget.

Westland
10-19-2012, 02:43 PM
That processor is a quad core, depending on the budget there are also six core processors that will work with that system that are not that much more expensive. Be sure to get a fair amount of memory as well (12 or more GB), also depending on the budget.


I'm taking 16 GB RAM for start but will expand it in future cuz motherboard can have up to 32 GB. And how about that geforce gtx 680 it will stick?

olson
10-19-2012, 10:08 PM
I'm taking 16 GB RAM for start but will expand it in future cuz motherboard can have up to 32 GB. And how about that geforce gtx 680 it will stick?

The GTX 680 is a good card, maybe overkill though. Again, depends on the budget.

tswalk
10-20-2012, 07:06 AM
...will stick?

only if you throw it hard enough at your target...

imashination
10-20-2012, 09:24 AM
only if you throw it hard enough at your target...

My ex GF was quite sticky, I reckon she'd pick it up just by nudging into it.

CGTalk Moderation
10-20-2012, 09:24 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.