PDA

View Full Version : Is there any reason to make a new LW user site?

m_luscombe
12-03-2003, 08:44 PM
Just a little background: I wrote and run a site called StrataCafe

http://www.stratacafe.com

I've been running it for about 4 years now, and it's been pretty successful for the community it serves.

I got really excited about the possiblity of doing the same with LW a while back, and registered www.lwcafe.com but haven't done anything with it. Now it's time to renew the URL =)

So, just looking for some random thoughts. There are so many 3D and LW Specific sites out there, is there really any reason for another? Any need that isn't being addressed by 3-4 sites already?

Negative feedback is important as well. It's a lot of work to run a community site, especially if the community isn't behind it =)

LittleFenris
12-03-2003, 08:51 PM
Honestly, I think there are plenty of LW forums and sites out there already. If you were gonna host tutorials and stuff that aren't on other sites, that would be good, but just for forums I don't think its needed. About the only one I get any REAL help on is this one anyways. I don't even bother posting in the Newtek LW forums cause the question gets answered faster and better here on CGTalk. That I know of there is LWG3D.org, the Newtek LW forum, CGTalk, Simplylightwave, etc... I don't think you should waste your time or resources ($$) on another LW forum. Its a nice idea, but probably more work and a waste of your money than its worth. :shrug: But its your time and money, not mine. Anything new I learn from it is all good. :wip:

m_luscombe
12-03-2003, 09:12 PM
Well, the Cafe thing isn't just a forum:

- Setup a profile and post as many images to it as you want. Sortable gallery, personal profile comments, etc.

- Upload and download models and textures

- Searchable tip database

- Benchmark files and results

- Yes, forums