PDA

View Full Version : Vray - How to disable shadow casting when using DomeLights


naik
09-20-2012, 05:29 PM
Hey guys,

i can't find any option for disabling shadows when using domelights.
Am i missing something?
In 3dsmax, there is definitely an option for that...

cheers

naik

bazuka
09-20-2012, 06:07 PM
ur right, there is no option

other way is to disable per obj cast shadow....

cheers

naik
09-21-2012, 08:32 AM
Here is the answer from Vlado

"Hm, oddly enough the option is missing in the UI. Will make a note to fix this, but in the meantime you can turn the option off directly on the V-Ray plugin from the Python scene callback."

Still waiting for more information, maybe someone of you can solve that...

cheers

naik

naik
09-21-2012, 09:17 AM
It seems that creating the DomeLight via the plugin can be a solution.
Gotta check it out!

cheers

earlyworm
09-22-2012, 04:39 AM
Here is the answer from Vlado

"Hm, oddly enough the option is missing in the UI. Will make a note to fix this, but in the meantime you can turn the option off directly on the V-Ray plugin from the Python scene callback."

Still waiting for more information, maybe someone of you can solve that...

cheers

naik

Vlado's most likely referring the Post-Python-Translate feature in V-Ray. Essentially if you know python and you can make sense of a .vrscene file then you can modify aspects of the vray render after hitting render...

http://cg.earlyworm.co.nz/vray-scene-access-or-modifying-your-scene-after-youve-hit-render/
http://cg.earlyworm.co.nz/more-vray-scene-access-or-some-more-random-tidbits/
http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/maya/150R1/render_scene_access.htm

This allows you access to features in V-Ray which aren't exposed in the Maya UI.

CGTalk Moderation
09-22-2012, 04:39 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.