PDA

View Full Version : Raffles Institute of Arts Singapore (Branch)

RepulSeer
09-12-2012, 09:21 PM
Hi guys, first of all, i'm new here and i'm 19.
I have been home studying 3D software (maya, Max) and i have an interest in
3D modelling and still images. Now, down to the question.

Is Raffles Institute a known institute?
Is Game Design a good course? (should i go for graphic or Multimedia instead?)

ps. If there are any sites which you guys know posts thorough tutorial please post to me.
Thanks in advance.

Nasok
09-20-2012, 07:20 AM
Inwhat country are you planing to attend it ? 'cause you can find Raffles in Singapore, Australia, India just to name a few ..

I used to be a design lecturer there, for a short period of time, but still :)

Cheers.

SandeepMaithani
09-21-2012, 10:05 AM
Raffels is not known for what you intend to do..
check out cgprotege.com in singapore..
cheers

luispages
09-21-2012, 08:21 PM
http://www.lasjedi.com

RepulSeer
09-22-2012, 01:03 AM
@nasok - Singapore
@Sandeep & luis - thanks, i'l look into it.

Nasok
09-25-2012, 11:48 AM
okay, there is Raffles Design institute in Singapore .. but ..in my opinion it is more overall design etiquette and culture learning rather than hardcore modeling and rendering.

So, yeah, if you want to just model and render .. and you, basically, don't need the other part of "art culture" it's better to take something else. RDI - is not oriented on 3D modeling (there are some courses and modules) but more on overall design industry. Like art-direction, story telling, concept art, art research, writing design proposals and drawing storyboards .. and etc .. so .. if you already know all this or find it not that useful - it's better to jump on "modeling courses" or as other people said to straight CG oriented places.

Cheers.

chien
09-27-2012, 01:12 PM
hello johorian ^^, have you heard of Nanyang or Temasik Polytechnic? since you are interested at studying modeling course in SG, i heard those place have cg course