PDA

View Full Version : Particle Alpha Or Visibility Over Age..


MidnightCow
09-12-2012, 12:05 AM
How can i fade a thinking particles alpha or visibility over its life?

I`ve tried animating the between materials in the material slot of the particle`s texture tag which was suggested by Srek, so i understand this should work but it isn`t.. all particles fade out at the same time rather than by individual age..

Any help much appreciated there seems to be very little info around about it.

pOem
09-12-2012, 09:15 AM
Hi

Don't know what you are trying to accomplish but, try to use psize or pscale, they have a over age option that you can tweak with the age gradient.
That way you can kind of, simulate the visibility fade.

Hope it helps

MidnightCow
09-12-2012, 09:28 AM
Hi pOem, thanks for the tip.

Unfortunately i need alpha/visibility over particle age.

Basically what i`m doing is creating smoke via TP and then caching it as Mograph for the render farm. So basically billboards with animated noise in the alpha channel. The `smoke` particles grow larger with age already via pScale ( growing smaller as a workaround won`t do ) and i need their visibility to also `fade out` rather than winking out of existence suddenly..

Any other particle system no problems but there seems to be no reference anywhere as to how to do this basic thing in C4D ( without using pyrocluster )..

typografschaft
09-12-2012, 09:56 AM
This should get you going,
the first one is made with the Particle Geometry object
and the second one with a Cloner.

My guess is that you put the material on the Cloner or the
Particle Geometry object, it has to be on the Particle Object itself.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/28253825/VisibilityOverAgeParticleGeometry.c4d
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/28253825/VisibilityOverAgeMoGraph.c4d

tcastudios
09-12-2012, 10:01 AM
If you are MoCacheing the TP via a Cloner, make sure you have
the animated texture tag on the child object.

Works as expected here. (Cached regular TP emitter using the CloneChild
as Geometry)

Cheers
Lennart

Edit: Beaten by a few minutes : )

MidnightCow
09-12-2012, 01:03 PM
Thanks guys at least that confirms that it does work!

I`ll have another go at it later on, suspect possibly my problem has been that as the main timeline in this particular part is starting not from zero but from 220 something that it`s created a problem..

Will have another look later and post here with how i get on.

Thanks again.

CGTalk Moderation
09-12-2012, 01:03 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.