PDA

View Full Version : Animation MFA, BA, or Dip in US

Azawindam
09-05-2012, 06:22 PM
Hi, I'm an undergraduate student in University of Washington, and I need help in deciding my future plans for education. My situation is that I'm an architecture student, and I'm planning to finish off my degree next year so that I can pursue the animation, which is my passion after realizing it. I had a year of series of courses of animation program (at U of Wash.) where I collaborate with other students to work on a short film, so I had some experience with animation basics and maya.

I'd like to hear some advice and suggestions whether I should pursue MFA or BFA or Diploma. I have financial support to afford any of these three choices, and I also prefer to study at an art school that specializes in teaching that program.
Despite my architecture degree, I personally lean towards applying for MFA because the curriculum is condensed compared to BFA, but I am not too sure either whether how much experience in animation the MFA program needs.

So please, help me on how should I make the best of the animation program (and pursue animation career as soon as possible). Your suggestions and comments are very much appreciated. Thank you.

fig
09-12-2012, 04:19 PM
I think it depends a lot on what exactly you want to do, "animation" as a term is a bit vague and can mean modeling, animation, rendering, lighting, etc.

Since you already have a degree online programs might be an area to consider, depending on the specific field you're interested in. Animation Mentor, iAnimate, and AnimSchool are some of the best character animation training you can get if that's a direction you're looking in.

If you are set on a Masters Degree and have an interest in lighting and rendering you might check out Texas A&M's Viz Lab (http://viz.arch.tamu.edu/) , I did my undergrad in architecture there and a lot of people that get accepted into the program are arch students.

Rexonox
09-25-2012, 10:50 PM