PDA

View Full Version : Compiling Maya C++ Plugins on 64bit Windows system


Koochy
08-14-2012, 05:28 AM
Can anyone advise me on a zero cost way of working on and compiling Maya plugins for Windows 64bit systems?

I've read up about Visual Studio 2008 being a stable application to work on developing Maya C++ plugins, but only the professional version... which costs money. I have the Express Edition installed which doesn't come with support for 64bit systems out of the box. I've tried following some tutorials around the internet that say they've managed to get the Express Edition working correctly, but I haven't been successful.

So! Am I doomed? Do I have to buy Visual Studio 2008 Professional? Are there any other Visual Studio Express editions that work with 64bit systems without hassle?

Thanks for any help!

mje11even
08-14-2012, 02:58 PM
Have you looked into using other development environments that are free such as QtCreator or Code::Blocks?

zoharl
08-14-2012, 07:15 PM
You have mingw-64 for a compiler and linker, and you have eclipse for an ide.

Koochy
08-14-2012, 11:01 PM
I use Eclipse at work for our Python dev, but not C++. I'll look into mingw-64 now, that'd be perfect as I know my way around Eclipse a bit better than VS. Are there any tutorials you can recommend for setting up and linking? I'm a absolute novice when it comes to C++ dev. I have some tutorials on writing, but the IDE/setting up/compiling is where I'm a bit short on info.

Thank you!

zeroeffect
08-15-2012, 12:36 AM
Use Visual Studio 2010 Express and the Windows SDK 7.1 (to get the 64-bit compiler).

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1865069/how-to-compile-a-64-bit-application-using-visual-c-2010-express


If you really want to use VS 2008, it is possible to add the 64-bit compiler. Although I believe it is a little more complicated.

zoharl
08-15-2012, 04:51 AM
Mingw 64 installation is less friendly than mingw 32, so I installed it through cygwin. But this looks easy enough:

http://tdm-gcc.tdragon.net/

I never used eclipse, but these should help you:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4358577/how-do-you-set-up-an-x64-development-environment-based-on-gcc-and-eclipse
http://pinyotae.blogspot.co.il/2010/05/eclipse-mingw-x64.html

I never tried code blocks, but it looks like something you should try out.

CGTalk Moderation
08-15-2012, 04:51 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.