PDA

View Full Version : Edit Save As UI to add notes to file

Plumer
08-09-2012, 11:29 PM
Hello,

I am relatively new to mel scripting.

I constantly save iterations and forget what small tweak I made.

I have been reading mel resources and was wondering if anyone advanced in mel could tell me if this idea could be done.

I would like to add to the Save Scene As Option menu on the right side, under the "File Type Specific Options" a text box for adding notes. With a clear all button.

My initial thought was that I could add to the SSA UI a textbox that would save the text inside the field as a global string variable that would write to the file. So any text you added or deleted would change the global string variable value on that file.

And I know I would have to add this to the Open UI as well, but when you clicked open, you could select a filename, and the Global Strings value would display your notes in the textbox.

My problem so far is I can not locate the save scene as UI, and my mel scripting needs work.

So my questions are to someone more advanced than I in mel and in general, is this a feasible thing? Is this a realistic solution? Help?

Thanks!

Plumer
08-13-2012, 01:54 AM
Should I post this in the UI sticky?

NaughtyNathan
08-13-2012, 09:16 AM
Maya already provides plenty of different ways to embed user-data and notes into files, but if I'm understanding you correctly you want to see the notes before you open any files right?

This is going to result in a problem whatever way you decide to do it inside the file as it means you will have to somehow fully or partially parse your Maya files before you open them. What would probably be far simpler would be to write out a text file with every Maya scene. If you save "char_anims_WIP_03.ma" it also writes out: "char_anims_WIP_03.txt" that have all your notes inside. This way you can browse, open, display all your scene notes without having to parse or open Maya files.