PDA

View Full Version : PC rig for Maya and other 3D OS's


SoulArcanium
08-04-2012, 12:06 PM
I am going to study 3D animation next year in Uni and I am going to need a good rig. I am also interested in gaming but the main reason I am getting a new pc is 3D field. So far I found one good rig that would work well for 3D work and gaming [tell me what you think]:

Rig 1: http://www.novatech.co.uk/pc/range/novatechblacknti11.html?th=g

Rig 2: Case- STYLISH PIANO BLACK ENIGMA CASE + 2 FRONT USB
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-3820 (3.6GHz) 10MB Cache
ASUS® P9X79: INTEL® SOCKET LG2011
16GB SAMSUNG QUAD-DDR3 1333MHz (4 X 4GB)
1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GT 610 - DVI, HDMI, VGA - 3D Vision Ready
250GB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 7200RPM 16MB CACHE
120GB KINGSTON HYPERX 3K SSD, SATA 6 Gb/s (upto 555MB/sR | 510MB/sW)
24x DUAL LAYER DVD WRITER ±R/±RW/RAM
450W Quiet 80 PLUS Dual Rail PSU + 120mm Case Fan
INTEL SOCKET LGA2011 STANDARD CPU COOLER
ONBOARD 8 CHANNEL (7.1) HIGH DEF AUDIO (AS STANDARD)
10/100/1000 GIGABIT LAN PORT - AS STANDARD ON ALL PCs
6 x USB 2.0 PORTS @ BACK PANEL (MIN 2 FRONT PORTS) AS STANDARD
£889 Total with VAT

Rig 3: http://imgur.com/31tDG £920 with VAT

tswalk
08-05-2012, 11:44 PM
the link is broken, but i can say that for "learning"... you really do not need a top of the line system and can go pretty economical.

i'm re-learning maya and am using a system that's 5 years old and it works just fine...


E6850 Core 2 Duo CPU @ 3GHz
4GB RAM
Windows 7/64bit
300GB HDD
GeForce 9800 GT 512MB

(recently upgraded to EVGA GTX 560 2GB, Mudbox works much better with more video ram)

granted render times a little slower than i would like, but i'm learning still... not doing production work.

SoulArcanium
08-06-2012, 12:18 AM
Fixed the link

tswalk
08-06-2012, 11:50 PM
i would check to see if you are able to upgrade the video card to atleast a 2GB version... that would be my only suggestion for it.

SoulArcanium
08-07-2012, 01:18 AM
i would check to see if you are able to upgrade the video card to atleast a 2GB version... that would be my only suggestion for it.

GPU is not really that important. A simple AMD or Nvidia 1gb card will be sufficient at least until I can afford Quadro GPU's.

CKPinson
08-07-2012, 01:37 AM
Yeah, I use the ATI HD 5850 still and it's chugging along perfectly although I've heard that Nvidias have been gimped since the 400 series so that includes your choice

CGTalk Moderation
08-07-2012, 01:37 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.