PDA

View Full Version : Escape Studios Course and Career Support Opinions?

Mykeprime
08-01-2012, 02:32 PM
Just a little backround, I did a three year BSc in multimedia which included a short module on VFX (mainly simple after effects stuff). Having enjoyed that module more so than anything else on the course, I followed it up with a year long MSc in digital visual effects.
This course was pretty much Ďjack of all trades, master of noneí, with more of an emphasis on Maya than anything else, but it did tell me that compositing was the direction a wanted to take from it.

Itís almost been a year since finishing that course and since then Iíve been both working on my show reel and trying to teach myself Nuke compositing from various online tutorials and the ĎNuke 101í book. Iíve had no luck finding employment, which I have come to the conclusion is due to my work not being of a high enough standard yet, and so I have started to consider the compositing courses at Escape Studios in London.

Itís going to be very expensive if I do it so Iíd like to hear peoples own experiences. Could anyone here who has done a course at Escape give me their thoughts on it and the career support they provide?

Xistel
08-03-2012, 11:47 PM
I'm also thinking about getting into the compositing course there in the next few years. I heard it's quite good

MrFanciful
08-07-2012, 10:28 AM
Not having been myself. I did know a girl who did at least one of the residential compositing courses at Escape and she immediately got a job doing the compositing for the conversion of The Phantom menace into 3D.

Another friend of mine did did one of the Maya courses and has done some time at The Mill.

I know there are always the occasional people who land the lucky jobs very soon afterwards from any school/college but they do seems to have very good industry contacts.

MrFanciful
08-07-2012, 10:46 AM