PDA

View Full Version : How do I allocate a 3D array?


zoharl
07-25-2012, 08:54 AM
Due to

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=89&t=1061911

I'd like to experiment on your computers. :D

How do I declare in python and in mel a 3D array of 1000^3 and another of 2000^3 cells?
Please try before you answer (If you use win7 x64 and maya x64 please describe your results)... ;)

NaughtyNathan
07-25-2012, 04:44 PM
I tried it using:
n=1000
distance = [[[0 for k in xrange(n)] for j in xrange(n)] for i in xrange(n)]on Maya 2010x64 Windows 7 12Gb RAM Intel Xeon X5355 @ 2.66GHz

after a minute or so Windows told me it had run out of Memory and I had to close Maya.exe immediately. which I did.

zoharl
07-25-2012, 05:41 PM
That's good. Do you have any idea how can I make my system to generate the same message before it hangs?
Do you use a page file?

zoharl
08-05-2012, 11:32 AM
I lowered my page file size from 8GB to 1GB, and I got this error as well.

CGTalk Moderation
08-05-2012, 11:32 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.