PDA

View Full Version : Linux Newb Needs Help - Compiling

Cyborg Corp.
11-29-2003, 12:58 AM
I installed Xandros 1.0 today but I have no idea how to install drivers. I cant connect to the internet on that computer cause I have no network drivers. I open the driver file and i'm supposed to compile it but I'm a complete newb and have zero idea on how to do that...any ideas?

Mazer
11-29-2003, 01:16 AM
Well, first of all see if there is a readme in the folder, after you unziped-it... Normaly compiling is as simple as doing ./configure, make, make install. But in your case I don't know, be more specific about hardware/software, maybe I can help then.

Cyborg Corp.
11-29-2003, 01:24 AM
Originally posted by Mazer
Well, first of all see if there is a readme in the folder, after you unziped-it... Normaly compiling is as simple as doing ./configure, make, make install. But in your case I don't know, be more specific about hardware/software, maybe I can help then.

Well the problem is the read me goes like what you said "./configuire" and stuff but where do i type all that?! Here's the product and where you can get the drivers
http://support.dlink.com/Products/view.asp?productid=DFE-530TX+
please remember, i'm a complete newb :cry:

Mazer
11-29-2003, 01:59 AM
Ok..... wel, you realy need to read your docs...
You must tipe the comands in a terminal... If you are using Kde you can right-click in the directory and choose "Open terminal here" but you realy realy need to go and read you docs...
Good luck and dont give up, it's worth the efford ;)

Cyborg Corp.
11-29-2003, 02:11 AM
I'm still having trouble. I cant find anything in the documents on compiling :eek:

elvis
11-29-2003, 08:57 AM
typically with any driver you download there will be a "README" or "INSTALL" file which you *MUST* read. not doing so will leave you stranded.

LINUX TERMINALS 101: