PDA

View Full Version : Anyone familiar with Ska? (Free SSS plugin)

milqman
11-28-2003, 10:39 PM
Howdy

Is anyone familiar with Ska, the free subsurface scattering plugin? It's mad slow, adds 20 minutes to my render... so its nerveracking to not know what the settings do and have it take forever.

Can someone explain how it works?

Thanks

SplineGod
11-29-2003, 03:58 AM
I think you can duplicate many of the effects of SSS in LW using gradients. :)

chikega
11-29-2003, 04:09 AM
There's a tutorial on NT's site:

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/contests/dec-02/winners/tutorials/layout/Shawn_Sapp/index.html

Hope that helps - and yes render times tend to be long.:)

stompbox
11-29-2003, 04:58 AM
Originally posted by SplineGod
I think you can duplicate many of the effects of SSS in LW using gradients. :)

Could you elaborate on that at all Larry?

I am a relative newbie, slogged my way up the worst of the learning curve, but wouldn't know where to start with what you're talking about. I like the idea of SSS for skin, but also plasticene look like boring3d.com
Cheers!

milqman
11-29-2003, 05:07 AM
Heheh, thanks again Larry

I agree with the previous poster (on the elaboration)... I'm not too sharp with gradients yet.

SplineGod
11-29-2003, 05:12 AM
Basically SSS gives a kind of internal luminance from light scattered below the surface of a material. Gradients can be used in the luminosity channel usually in conjuction with light or camera incidence to give the effect. Additional maps in the luminosity channel and translucency channel can help intensify the effect.
This picture was done using only luminosity maps. No lights are used at all. Theres not even an object inside either. :)
http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/examples/embryo.jpg

milqman
11-29-2003, 05:34 AM
Could you post that scene file somewhere so i could take a look at your surface set up?

chikega
11-29-2003, 05:38 AM