PDA

View Full Version : East Tennessee State University (ETSU)

dancgfx
07-19-2012, 08:36 PM
Hey!!

I will be studying M.S Technology (Digital Media) at East Tennessee State University, Johnson City this August. I'll be focusing more on modeling and texturing. This would my first time ever going to the U.S. I'll be getting a Wacom Intuos soon. Also, I'm thinking of taking my desktop computer(high conifig..) with me. Do you think it's a good idea? or It's better to get one over there. Is it necessary to get a laptop for classes?

CPFitz14
07-20-2012, 03:08 AM
Hi Dan,

I graduated from East Tennessee State a little less than two years ago and really enjoyed my time there. The computer labs are open late and one of the labs equipped with Cintiqs; so you might not even need the intuos right away. You won't need a laptop for classes; bringing your desktop is up to you... bringing it with you sure seems like the cheaper option.

Good luck!

unparent
07-21-2012, 01:03 AM
Wow, haven't seen this schools name on here in a long time. I went there in the late '90s back when it was being taught by Jeff Morris and Neil Owen. Was a great school back then, incredibly difficult, but extremely successful. We had something like a 95% employment rate. I haven't been back there since '99, so no idea what it is like now, but I know Jeff and Neil are both elsewhere. The group I started with in the program was about 25 students, and by the time our group finished I think we were down to under 10 people. The classes were brutal, but extremely effective and nearly everyone got good jobs. I still keep in touch with most if not all of my former classmates, and all but one of the jobs I've had came from networking with them. Several are still at Naughty Dog, Sucker Punch, Valve, Sony, Kojima, Weta, Digital Domain, ILM, and a few other places.