PDA

View Full Version : Rendering...


Koskinen
06-13-2002, 03:55 PM
Hi there!!!

We have some problems here with our renderings in Xsi 2.02 ;

1- How do you setup (correctly!) rayhost rendering with standalone Mental Ray licenses. And how does it works!!!!

2- We can't start renderings within a command prompt. We are
using XSI Essential and we are unable to start them. There is
a command "-essential" to use in the rendering lines but it
can't be recognized by xsi -r.

Can someone help me???........PLEASE!

arvid
06-14-2002, 12:13 AM
1)
Distributed rendering: (one license/cpu used required)
Open Start>Program>Softimage Products > Softimage XSI 2.0.2>UserTools and doubleclick .ray3hosts in the list, now add your computernames or IPs + the port of the ray3 host, ie:

machine1:7003
machine2:7003

or

192.168.1.10:7003
192.168.1.11:7003

2)
Try using xsibatch.exe instead, type xsibatch -r -h for help

krisr
06-14-2002, 03:56 AM
Also check that you have Mental Ray stand alone render licenses. If you don't own any stand alone lics, you will not be able to run a rayhost or run ray3.exe alone. You can check this by going to your SPM license server and looking for a button called "list keys". This will tell you how many licenses you own. At the top you should see something that says "Stndrender" or something to that effect. Next to this will be the number of Stand alone licenses you have.

Koskinen
06-14-2002, 01:46 PM
ok thank you guys!

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 09:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.