PDA

View Full Version : Configuring a new workstation ($10k range)


th3ta
07-12-2012, 04:47 PM
I mainly use 3ds max, with compositing in After Effects and Nuke. Not too much rendering in 3dsmax, usually send it off to the farm. I've been doing a ton of reading and I'm still trying to figure out what to go with.

I'm trying to decide between a couple of options from Boxx.

1) Dual Xeon E5-2640 2.5GHz (6 core)
64GB RAM DDR3
Nvidia Quadro 6000
240GB SSD 6GB/s

2) i7-3930k 3.2GHz (6 core)
64GB RAM DDR3
Nvidia Quadro 6000
240GB SSD 6GB/s
60GB SSD Cache Drive

3) i7-quad core 4.5GHz
32GB RAM DDR3
Nvidia Quadro 6000
240GB SSD 6GB/s
24GB SSD Cache Drive

What would give the best performance in 3dsmax? What about the CS Suite? I realize they may not be the same, but any input is appreciated.

sentry66
07-12-2012, 05:14 PM
just curious, why would you be willing to overclock a 4 core i7, but not a 6 core i7?
The 3930k is a fantastic overclocker.

After Effects would prefer the 4.5ghz i7 (4 or 6 core)

Nuke would prefer the dual xeon most of the time

Working in max would usually prefer the faster clocked i7
Rendering in max would prefer dual xeon

th3ta
07-12-2012, 05:20 PM
These configurations were put together using Boxx's system builder, so I guess they offer to OC the quad-core, but they don't have options to OC the 6-core, not sure why. I don't have any issues with OC'ing the 6-core myself though, so I guess that is another plus for that system.

The main issue I'm still struggling with is the dual Xeon vs single i7 - I think one favors 3ds max stuff, and the other favors AE and the Adobe Suite(correct me if I'm wrong), but I do a pretty even mix of both, so it's hard to call.

sentry66
07-12-2012, 05:26 PM
it is a tough call

what's the price difference?


BTW, you're a max user - why would you get the old quadro 6000 and not a Geforce 680? I didn't think max benefited much from quadros and would therefore benefit more from the faster Geforce

AE doesn't care much about quadro features.
Do quadros make a big difference in Nuke?

olson
07-12-2012, 05:33 PM
Even if you lose some performance on single threaded things I'd go with the Xeon configuration. The extra cores weigh in big for rendering and it has more memory slots than the Core i7 configuration which are always nice down the road.

th3ta
07-12-2012, 06:51 PM
I do a lot of stereo work inside of Nuke. I've read that Nvidia only lets you use the quad buffer with quadro cards. So, I think the quadro is needed to playback opengl stereo in the viewer, both within Nuke as well as Cinema4D, which I may also be using in the near future. (forgot to mention that in the OP). If I'm wrong about that and I can do the same with a GTX 680, please let me know.

I think the price difference between the dual xeon and the i7 is around 2k.

CGTalk Moderation
07-12-2012, 06:51 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.