PDA

View Full Version : Learning the right way - I need help

GenericGoodGuy
07-07-2012, 06:03 PM
Hello I'm Lee and i've been interested in 3d art for a while now but I stopped modeling 2 years ago due to many different reasons, but one of the main reasons was that I was seeing no progress in my modeling skills. I've read countless tutorials, many of which show different ways of doing things and would get me confused quite a lot (one minute i'm saying this is easy and then i'd get lost)

I like i'm throwing myself into too much information at the same time (in one day I would read about texturing, sculpting, uv mapping, modeling and mindlessly follow tutorials without really understanding what i'm doing) What is the best way to learn 3d art, without overloading my brain (modeling, texturing, sculpting) I learn a lot better when I can focus on one aspect of 3d art, go through it slowly and absorb the information.

I have a subscription to Digital tutors and completed one of the character models right up to UV mapping but I just found myself mimicing his actions and not really learning anything and also video tutorials seem harder to remember than reading a tutorial, so if anyone knows a text based tutorial site, let me see.

tl;dr How can I teach myself 3d art properly and really absorb the information.

Thanks, hopefully you can understand my post i'm English but i'm finding it hard to read this colour font on this background (long day watching tutorials and forums)

Rexonox
07-10-2012, 07:06 PM
Hey Lee,