PDA

View Full Version : Setup a Muppet for Animation

Alexkid1111
07-06-2012, 10:42 AM
Hey Folks,

I am about to animate a muppet. Well the body parts like legs n arms should hanging down because of gravity. I intend to controle legs and arms and the body of course using wires/strings. These wires I want to attach to a handle (controlobject), something like an easy controlobject. Well the model actually should work like a muppet in reality. The software I am using is Maya. For test purposes I allready tried an IK Spline Handle Tool and to convert the CV's into softbodies, but doesnt bring the desired effect. The other methot I tried was to make all body parts like active Rigid bodies and to constrain them via Nail and Pin and hinge. Last but not least was a bit critical to all my theories.

How would you setup a the muppet contrel ist by strings/wires connected to a handle ??

( I am really new to Animation, Rigging...)

gmask
07-07-2012, 05:28 AM
Well this can be quite a complicated rig. It is possible to animate such a rig without explicitly using dynamics.

For the purpose of guiding you int he right direction it'd be helpful to see an image of your model or anything relevant.. I think I know what you mean but anything would help.

You will need to use splineIK is there is a string connecting the foot to the body for example and then a string from the puppeteers handle to the foot.

Alexkid1111
07-08-2012, 11:22 AM
thanks gmask,