PDA

View Full Version : Pro-sumer grade monitors

Redkatt
07-05-2012, 06:17 PM
I'm looking to buy a new display, replacing my old Eizo S2411W(S-PVA panel). Since i've been very happy with my Eizo display it seems the SX2462W would be a good replacement. However, before making a decision i'd like to get some different opinions. The Eizo is, after all, fairly expensive.

What I want is a general purpose display that gives good color accuracy for photographic work. I'm not a professional but I inted to start a small side buisness doing fine art and fashion photography. It's not something I expect to generate any substantial income, but i'm serious about the results and want to be able to get accurate prints.

Some of the criteria i'm looking for are...

24 inches and up.
Decent response time(like my current panel)
Good sRGB-mode - important!
Wide gamut
Accurate colors
Good contrast/tonality

Oh, and extra plus if I can get it for free. ;)
Seriously though, the Eizo SX2462W should give a good hint about budget here.

olson
07-05-2012, 07:55 PM
For the price I'd consider this too which gives far more space to work with and still covers 100% of sRGB.

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=224-9949&ST=Monitors%20Monitor%20Accessories&dgc=ST&cid=72662&lid=1838870&acd=s_pla_dhs:000011,,901pdb6671

Redkatt
07-05-2012, 09:30 PM
I have glanced at the Dell U3011 and the screen real estate sure is nice. However, at the prices around here it would cost me as much as a Eizo ColorEdge CG2443(the price difference is about as much as a calibration tool, which comes bundled with the Eizo). Even though both are tempting, albeit strething my budget quite a bit, I prefer better color reproduction over real estate.

olson
07-05-2012, 09:41 PM