PDA

View Full Version : Timeline markers to Xpresso?


Hilt
07-03-2012, 11:23 AM
As the title suggests, is there a way to get timeline markers to be used in Xpresso setups?

Srek
07-03-2012, 12:20 PM
Click on the marker and drag the small icon of it that shows in the AM into the Xpresso editor to create an object node for it. You can now write and read most of it's properties.
Cheers
Björn

Hilt
07-03-2012, 04:47 PM
Ah so there it was :)
Thanks a ton Srek!

Hilt
07-04-2012, 10:52 AM
Dont feel like polluting the forum with these little questions, so I shoot it here instead.

I've a bunch of Timeline markers (named from 0 to 9) and a spline with 10 points. I want to have an object located at those spline points at specific time (which so happens to be the marker's time).

Am I doing this all wrong? What's the least stupid way to reach this goal?

Srek
07-04-2012, 12:30 PM
In theory what you propose might work, but in reality you need to compare the equality of two real values (current time and time of the marker), something that can and will go wrong often enough.
What you could do is creat an integer user data field for each marker and store it's temporal position not as a real value but as an integer frame value.
That way you can successfully and reliably compare on equality.
The setup would look like this
http://www.bonkers.de/forums/timelinemarkers.jpg

http://www.bonkers.de/forums/timelinemarkers.c4d
Hope this helps
Björn

Hilt
07-04-2012, 02:51 PM
That is very elegant solution indeed. Thank you again!

CGTalk Moderation
07-04-2012, 02:51 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.