PDA

View Full Version : rendering volumetric lights


BladeFX
11-27-2003, 11:32 AM
How do you render out a volumetric point light on a transparent background?

I do know how to set the backgournd transparent, and how to create my volum. point light, but when I render out, all shadows are present, but my light itself is gone.

example below

http://www.bladefx.com/cg/licht.jpg

Thanx

LittleFenris
11-27-2003, 02:20 PM
Why not render the background in black and use the "screen" mode in Photoshop to get rid of the black? Other than that, I'm not sure...I'm not expert at rendering.

BladeFX
11-27-2003, 02:28 PM
The problem is, i realy need it transparent, because the ultimate goal is to import it in flash.
When I render out on black, everything behind the light won't be shown. :hmm:

Werner
11-27-2003, 02:31 PM
save it as a 32bit .png file. Flash works well with png files...with transparency

BladeFX
11-27-2003, 02:40 PM
I agree, however,
The light doesn't apear directly in flash neither.

It's the same effect as above.

Tommi
11-27-2003, 02:43 PM
I think, Flash might be the problem. I haven't had any problems with Lightwave's alpha channel so far, but didn't import anything into Flash, yet.
Have you imported the image into other applications (e.g. After Effects), yet?


EDIT: Something that comes to my mind - you could do that glowing point light very easily in Flash itself...

BladeFX
11-27-2003, 02:48 PM
I've tried several apps, it doesn't show in either one.

I know you could simulate the point light, but you cant simulate the shadows, as the image show is just a sample.
Objects pass, so the shoud receive a bleu glow.

Tommi
11-27-2003, 02:51 PM
My though was more a workaround... I'd also be interested in a solution for your problem - who knows when I'll face something like that somewhen.... :hmm:

Have you already tried other image formats and rendered the sequence via render options? Maybe LW's image viewer causes the problem :shrug:

BladeFX
11-27-2003, 02:56 PM
It isn't the viewer.
I've rendered full sequences and tried to save as all possible 32 & 24 bit images.
I even made a QT & avi to import.

the pointlight is nowhere to be found.

Tommi
11-27-2003, 03:09 PM
maybe this thread helps:

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=44710

BladeFX
11-27-2003, 03:41 PM
Thanx Tommi, :beer:

It works, however, now all furfaces with shadow density are ignored.
But with some tweaking, I think i could isolate the part I need.

leigh
11-28-2003, 04:29 AM
Don't you need to use Ray Trace Transparency (in your render settings) to see volumetric effects behind/inside transparent surfaces?

BladeFX
11-28-2003, 08:23 AM
Leigh,

even with ray-trace transparancy on the light doesn't show.
Pitty, could have been a great solution

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.