PDA

View Full Version : Lighting and rendering Execution

n3al
07-02-2012, 01:47 PM
Hi There

I would just like to ask about effective methods for planning and executing lighting and rendering as well as decent and effective workflows.

I'm currently a student at Touchvision Training in Cape Town, South Africa and we recently started a team project asnd i have been assigned to the lighting team. I would like to know where I can get decent tutorials on this matter as we are trying to combine a cartoon feel with manga ways of showing emotion, like the darkened backgrounds, washed out scenes etc.

Thank You :thumbsup:
Neal Strydom

InfernalDarkness
07-05-2012, 07:39 PM
Hey N3al! I think your question is a little too vague for anyone to be able to help you. We don't know what software you're using, what rendering engine, etc.

My initial response would be: Create the lights, click Render. Tweak, test, and repeat!

We can't give you tips on your workflow either, as we don't know what program you're using.

n3al
07-06-2012, 02:30 PM
I'm using Maya 2013 and we use mental ray to render. We are currently working on an animation short for a team project and I've been assigned to the lighting and rendering team. I've been thinking of making a master light setup and then just tweaking the lighting for each shot as is necessary to create the desired effect.

We are working with a shaolin monastery layout in a mountainous terrain and we haven't set a time for when the scene plays out as it is indoor and the main lighting will be bright sunlight from the window. There will be three characters of which a monk and a fly will take up prime spot for the short and mainly a mix of relics, charms, statues and wall ornamentations for decoration.

Sorry for my vague information, hope this info helps

Sowiedu
07-07-2012, 01:17 PM
You may want to take a look at the Book "Digital Lighting and Rendering" by Jeremy Birn, that should get you started.

n3al
07-07-2012, 08:48 PM