PDA

View Full Version : How do I make shadows refract in the Scanline Renderer?


Ghostscape
11-27-2003, 05:20 AM
I have a glass, it refracts and reflects. It looks great. And then, when I rest it on my tablecloth, it doesn't refract the shadows. I currently have advanced raytraced shadows set up for the light...I can't find anything in the User Ref or manual in regards to this...

Anyone have any help?

Ideally, it should look like this : http://www.vrayrender.com/gallery/image/170/

Cabbage
11-27-2003, 03:22 PM
If you're talking about the light whitin the shadows, those are caustics. Max Scanline renderer can't generate caustics, commercial renderers such as finalRender, mentalray, and VRay can. If you have 3D Studio Max 6 mental ray should come with it, which does a very nice job.

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 06:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.