PDA

View Full Version : DDR RAM question


RusMan
11-27-2003, 02:00 AM
I have an older computer now, Athlon 1.33Ghz with 256DDR PC2100 RAM. I plan to upgrade it soon, but for now I want to get more RAM. I want to get 512MB PC3200DDR so I can put it in my new motherboard that I'll get later, but my current motherboard only supports up to PC2100. Will the PC3200 or PC2700 RAM work in my current motherboard (MSI K7T266 pro2 (http://www.msicomputer.com/product/detail_spec/product_detail.asp?model=K7T266_Pro2) )?

stephen2002
11-27-2003, 03:18 AM
As long as they are 2.5v 184 pin DIMMs the higher speed sticks will work fine. Of course they will not work at their rated speed just the maximum that the motherboard supports.

RusMan
11-28-2003, 08:11 AM
Cool, thanks for your help, I'll get some RAM tommorow, there's gonna be some nice sales tomorrow.:thumbsup:

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.