PDA

View Full Version : 650m and 3DS


laurent05
06-20-2012, 12:37 PM
Hi everybody.

Next year I'll be following 'Digital arts and entertainment'.
One of the main programs (besides photoshop) is Autodesk 3DS. (3D modeling program)
I'm probably gonna buy a new classic mbp.

My question is wether the 650m with 512mb DDR5 ram is able to run 3DS smoothly without any problems?
I don't mind about the 0.3 cpu difference since their performences will be almost the same.

I know 3DS is windows only, but I'll be running it trough parallels or vmware.
That's why I'll defenitly buy 16gb of ram afterwards.
(Also gonna put in an ssd and the hdd in an optibay)

Comming from a 2duo 2.1ghz, 9600m gt acer, it'll definitly be a huge upgrade.

Since I'm going to buy the extra ram (already got the ssd) and a wacom tablet, I'll defenitly going to need the money. (student)
So if the 1gb 650m isn't really necessary. That would be awesome.


Thanks in advance.

CHRiTTeR
06-22-2012, 02:13 PM
depends on what you'll be doing in max?

Huge scenes with lots of poly's, textures and complicated rigs?

Or relatively simple less complicated stuff?

CGTalk Moderation
06-22-2012, 02:13 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.