PDA

View Full Version : Dual Socket Workstation build


Dispatch88
06-15-2012, 07:28 AM
I'm thinking about building a workstation for Maya/3ds. Primarily for rendering. I've built several computers in the past but never one with dual sockets.

Hardware:
Dual Xeon E5-2620
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117269

ATI FirePro V4800 (debatable, could change to an equivalent nvidia) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814195096

Dell U2711
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824260038

12 Gb Crucial RAM

As for the motherboard, I'm still a bit unsure about. I like the specs on this one:
EVGA Classified SR-X 270-SE-W888-KR
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188119

I like that it has USB 3.0, most other boards dont seem to have it for some reason, maybe i'm just not searching deep enough. My only problem is the price, $650 is a bit high for my liking. Does anyone know of a cheaper board that has usb 3.0?

Also, I was thinking of salvaging the 850 watt psu from my current machine, will that be enough juice for this setup?

vlad
06-15-2012, 02:40 PM
IMO it doesnt make much sense to build a dual with such slow (and non overclockable) cpus. Consider that a 3930k cpu on an Asus P9X79 overclocked to 4.5ghz will dish out 27ghz versus 24ghz for the dual 2620, and will cost over 500$ less. Even more important, it will also be over twice as fast in single threaded applications.

sentry66
06-15-2012, 04:18 PM
lots of boards have USB 3 now

I'd also recommend a 3930k overclocked, unless you really need the xeon's lower latency for juggling multiple tasks at the same time and needing the system to stay more responsive

Dispatch88
06-15-2012, 04:58 PM
I've never had much luck with overclocking. I tried to OC my i7-920 up from 2.67 to just 3, and would always fail.

Dispatch88
06-15-2012, 05:26 PM
Hmmm, the more I think about the 3930K, the more appealing it becomes.

Faster total clock speed
Faster single threaded tasks
cheaper
CHEAPER
less unknowns about RAM configurations and support
oh and cheaper

Im finding tons of OC guides for the 3930K, So I think I'll try my hand at that again.
Thank you all.

sentry66
06-15-2012, 06:25 PM
be sure to get a board that's specifically made for overclocking. You can either use the boards software for auto overclocking, or you can get better results usually be manually doing it. There's plenty of websites of people posting general starting BIOS settings that should work for everyone.

The K series is really easy to overclock with the unlocked multiplier. Just be sure to get a decent heatsink CPU cooler and a case with good airflow.


The x79 platform can have up to 64 gigs of ram with 8 ram slots for boards that support it.
I personally am running an ASUS sabertooth x79 and it's been fantastic, though there's a lot of other really good boards out there that you can't go wrong with.

Dispatch88
06-15-2012, 07:04 PM
I have a Thermaltake Frio
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835106150

That thing is a beast

Dispatch88
06-15-2012, 07:42 PM
Newegg has an open box Sabertooth for $225. I believe I found a winner.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131801R

One question about quad channel. I have 6x2gb Crucial DDR3 1333, what configuration do i need to put them in on this board since the DIMM slots are divided into groups of 4?

Would I just fill the grey slots first then fill the 2 black slots on the left? or just the first black slot on each group? Is that unclear?

sentry66
06-15-2012, 09:14 PM
I'm not sure it really matters. Ether way you're going to be disabling the quad channel memory bandwidth for that channel - or maybe for both channels, I'm not sure.

$200-220 will get you 32 gigs of memory as a single quad-channel set



The Thermaltake Frio is decent. Among all the other coolers out today, I'm not sure I'd quite call it a beast, but it is a good cooler

Dispatch88
06-15-2012, 09:53 PM
I see. I dont think i need 32 gb, but 16gb in a 4x4gb setup i could fit in my budget. I'll just put the cards i have now into my family's computers

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233197

Thank you Sentry66, you've been very helpful

This will be my most powerful build yet, how exciting!

sentry66
06-15-2012, 10:20 PM
sounds like it's going to work out


glad to help

CGTalk Moderation
06-15-2012, 10:20 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.