PDA

View Full Version : Where do people get ideas?

freighttrein
06-14-2012, 08:26 PM
So im a newbie digital painter and i started doing the process where you brush random things until you see a picture. Ten minutes in and i see nothing. Where does everyone get ideas to paint these things?

Andrewty07
06-16-2012, 04:50 AM
I have seen some concept artists do something similar to what you mentioned but also placing a texture as a background, tweaking its contrast and opacity to subtle it down a bit and then drawing over it for ideas. Another method is to take a few images and combine them into a new idea or concept until a foundation is established to run off of. Ultimately it is up to you to play around with different things to find your best inspiration, some artists do things like listen to movie soundtracks and imagine what would be going on while it played or the kind of creature/character that would be on screen.

Lunatique
06-16-2012, 07:15 PM
You're going about it backwards. One does not just arrive at something without having a wealth of knowledge/experience to inform them. For example, if you wanted to improvise a piece of music on an instrument, you would not be able to come up with anything decent if you didn't know anything about scales, harmonic structure, rhythm, key signature, dynamics, or have had lots of experience practicing improvisation. Those musicians who can improvise on the spot all have extensive experience and knowledge to inform them of the split-second decisions they must make while improvising in real-time. It's exactly the same with doing the kind of free form exploration in drawing/painting that you're talking about.