PDA

View Full Version : Issues loading Maya 2013 C++ mll plugins


beckabec
06-13-2012, 06:29 PM
Hello,

I am currently in the process of trying to load a C++ .mll plugin to Maya 2013 and I have been experiencing some issues. When I select the file from C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2013\bin\plug-ins\ it will show up in the Plug-in manager and I am able to select Auto-load. I then proceed by restarting Maya 2013, and the Auto-load is no longer checked including the following error I receive:

Error: Unable to dynamically load : C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2013\bin\plug-ins\XXX.mll
The specified module could not be found.

Error: The specified module could not be found.
Error: The specified module could not be found.

I thought this was an issue with the basic C++ plug-in I have created but I went back and built the helloWorldCmd.mll, provided in Maya 2013 devkit, and I can't seem to load this either. I've tried the same steps in Maya 2012 and I don't have any issues.

I am hoping to fix this asap and I appreciate any feedback. Thanks.

djx
06-14-2012, 12:18 PM
Are you sure you are compiling with the 2013 libraries? That error usually means an incorrect version I think.

David

zoharl
06-14-2012, 03:18 PM
First check this

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=1042546

Second, please build your plugin for 2013, but try to load it with 2012.

Keilun
06-14-2012, 03:26 PM
I've built a few plug-ins on 2013 and they load fine. The error looks like the plug-in is linking against the wrong Maya libs, or missing a VC redist (2010 for Maya2013) as David mentioned. Maybe double check that?

The unchecking of autoload is normal for a plug-in that fails to load. It's always behaved like that.

beckabec
06-14-2012, 04:57 PM
Great, thank you for your quick replies.

Yes, I am compiling with Maya 2013 libraries. I've linked my VS developing environment to the appropriate folders, i.e:
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2013\include
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2013\lib

I will also look into your suggestions.

And regarding the auto-load, I've noticed that too. That's why I usually restart Maya after I load in a plug-in anyways.

Thanks!

syntetik
04-21-2013, 08:14 PM
having the same problem here. Strangely I can load the plugin in Maya 2013 on the machine where I built it, but others on their machines cannot. And we also checked the API version.

syntetik
04-22-2013, 12:02 AM
Becka, what compiler did you use? I think the problem could be with Visual Studio 2012. Or even Maya 2013 linking.
I used DependencyWalker and found couple of DLLs which might be missing on other machines.
Libraries like MSVCP110.DLL and so on.

haggi
04-22-2013, 12:26 PM
Maya2013 was built with VS 2010. So if you compile the plugin with this version, everything should work fine.

If you use another version of VS, you will have to install the redistributables for the version on every machine where you want to use the plugin. So if you use VS 2012, you will need to install the redistributables which contain the msvcp110.dll.

syntetik
05-11-2013, 02:17 PM
thanks haggi, this sounds like it could solve my problem. I will give it a shot!

Cymps
12-03-2013, 03:07 PM
was a solution ever found?