PDA

View Full Version : Reload / update deformer plugin in a scene

zoharl
06-12-2012, 11:43 AM
Hi,

I started playing with deformer nodes, and I assume that what I'm looking for already lies around. The problem from the doc:

If you force the unload of a plug-in while it is in use, it will not be possible to reload node plug-ins. This is because existing nodes in the scene will have to be converted to "Unknown" nodes, and on plug-in reload, you will not be allowed to change the type of these existing nodes.

In practice if I use force, I need to restart maya afterwards, since I can't create a deformer node afterwards even in a new scene.

I'm looking for a two part script, which I can run with commandPort.exe in the pre/post build events in VS. The first part would locate all my deformer object in the scene, save their connections to a temporary file, delete them, and unload the plugin.
The second part would copy the new .mll, load it, create the deformer nodes, and reconnect them according to the temp file.

I assume that instead of saving the connections and restoring them, it would be easier to save the current scene in a temp file and reload it. But if the scene is big, it would be quite slow.

Also if anyone has other suggestions I would be happy to hear them out.

tontonsuspect
06-12-2012, 02:53 PM
Save your scene --> create a new empty scene( opening an empty scene/other scene flush the undo queue : you cant unload a plugin if an object in the undo queue needs it....). unload your plugin. Then you can transfer your new mll, load it in maya and reopen your test scene( though if your scene was saved while using a plugin the "requires" command in the header will normally load it ).

zoharl
06-12-2012, 03:10 PM
Yes, this is the method I was referring to towards the end of my post, but as I mentioned there's the limitation with big scenes that it takes time to reload them.

tontonsuspect
06-12-2012, 03:43 PM