PDA

View Full Version : Advice for rookie attendees?

Alikah187
06-05-2012, 03:35 AM
This is my first time going to SIGGRAPH not as a student volunteer. Every year I feel I have gotten better at the conference, but I am a bit nervous going as a new grad, now looking to network with professionals instead of mostly other students going to mostly SV sessions. I was wondering if any vetrans had some advice on how to make the most of the conference? Any advice would be appreciated :)

PaulHellard
06-26-2012, 04:25 AM
Hey Rachel,

If you see someone you know, talk. If you see someone you might recognise, introduce yourself. Don't wander aimlessly and wonder where the week went by Thursday.

Grab the Advance Program @ HERE (http://s2012.siggraph.org/attendees/general-informationplanning/advance-program) and begin to map out what you'd like to see/visit etc. What you get from the week will depend on your purchased ticket, who you talk to (everyone) and where you go to network.

I've been going since 2005 and there are many I knew who have been going since the 1980s. If you've been a SV, now you don't need to answer questions. You need to ASK them! Definitely check out the Emerging Technologies, Computer Animation Festival and their Production Sessions, the Jobs Fair, the SIGGRAPH Dailies show and network like a crazy thing.

By the end of the week, if you don't have a suitcase full of business cards, flyers, ideas, notes and leads to several possible new jobs, there's something wrong.

Pepster3D
06-28-2012, 02:19 PM
After attending a few times, I've learned that it's great to go to some of the birds of a feather meetings and also parties/events and just start introducing yourself to people. I've met some great people that I've kept in touch with. You'd be amazed as to who knows who once you start chatting. It's like getting 1 degree of separation from people who know others at major studios, etc. Plus everyone is usually super friendly and fun to chat with!

andrewkennedy