PDA

View Full Version : 2 Xeon e5 -2620 or I7 3960


mdewyea
06-02-2012, 09:44 PM
Just looking for opinions. Will 2 xeon e5 2620 beat a single i7 3960 in rendering with maya, max, and after effects. Cant find any benchmarks to compare the two.
I'm sure the 3960 can beat a single e5 2620 but I dont know if it could keep up with two.
Any input would be great considering for my workstation.
Lets hear some opinions!!

sentry66
06-02-2012, 09:55 PM
will you be overclocking the 3930k?

After Effects is faster with the 3930k compared to the 2ghz xeons by a wide margin - especially when overclocked, it could be literally twice as fast

Maya and max will render faster with the xeons

If you overclock the 3930k, depending on your scene files and rendering engine it could range from 30% faster to 10% slower than the xeons. I use mental ray with lots of single-threaded SSS shaders for medical animations and my 4.7ghz 3930k is about 28% faster than our dual xeon 2.0ghz server for our particular type of scene files.

here's some benchmarks comparing the current top of the line dual 3.1ghz xeon to a regular 3930k:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/xeon-e5-2687w-benchmark-review,3149-6.html
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/xeon-e5-2687w-benchmark-review,3149-8.html
Obviously 2.0 ghz xeons will be quite a bit slower than 3.1ghz xeons

mdewyea
06-02-2012, 10:11 PM
No I wont be overclocking but remember im talking about 3960 not the 3930

I read those benchmarks and they are comparing the high end xeons too.

Rendering in maya and max im thinkin the 3960 because of those benchmarks.
If they are faster i dont think by much.
Thanks for the input

3960 vote then?

sentry66
06-02-2012, 10:16 PM
oh oops, sorry

yeah the 3960x is around 2-5% faster than a 3930k at stock speeds.

It depends on how much you use AE or render in maya/max

If you spend more time rendering in maya/max, then the dual xeons are the way to go

Bear in mind the xeon motherboards can go up to 256 gigs of ram while the i7 boards max out at 64 gigs. After Effects loves memory

mdewyea
06-02-2012, 10:47 PM
Im comparing the xeon e5 2620 because they are about 419.00 a piece and the 3960 is 1000.00

two xeons for the same price as the 3960 hmmmm...

Just seems in those benchmarks the high end xeons barely beat the 3960 so the low end xeons even two of them would have a hard time against the 3960

And i dont think i would need more 96 gigs of ram for after effects, would be nice tho.

would like to see some benchmarks with the evga sr-x and all the xeons matched up

sentry66
06-02-2012, 11:21 PM
or you could save $400 and get the 3930k which is barely slower than the 3960x

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/443?vs=552

qwatkins
06-03-2012, 08:30 AM
...would like to see some benchmarks with the evga sr-x and all the xeons matched upit would be interesting IF Intel had offered an unlocked option for the new E5's but they didn't. I just got done building a dual socket E5 machine and put in a pair of 2665's with 64GB of RAM in it and I love it. Maybe th Ivy bridge Xeon refresh in 2013 will have some unlocked goodness. I hedged my bet because I put in the overclockable dual socket Asus board just in case we get unlocked chips next year. I was all set to buy an SRX board but they were out of supply and i couldn't wait.

sentry66
06-03-2012, 03:17 PM
would like to see some benchmarks with the evga sr-x and all the xeons matched up

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/motherboards/2012/03/06/intel-xeon-e5-2670-review/4


I thought you weren't interested in any overclocking?

mdewyea
06-03-2012, 10:45 PM
Im not overclocking. even with the evga sr-x. I thought you couldn't overclock anyway. I just wanted some good info before i bought my computer. Sounds like to me 2 low budget xeons beat out a single 3960 for rendering.

olson
06-04-2012, 01:15 PM
At the stock speeds the Xeon processors will run circles around the Core i7 for ray tracing rendering. After Effects will run faster on the Core i7 since many tasks in After Effects use only one processor core (but some use all, getting better with each release). However you can run several After Effects renders at once to utilize all of the processor cores.

mirkoj
06-12-2012, 08:01 PM
and also in that case add at least 2gb of RAM per core for adobe as it actually just launches additional afterfx programs for rendering so.. do some math :)

CGTalk Moderation
06-12-2012, 08:01 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.