PDA

View Full Version : Mudbox Automatic UV question???


skobot222
05-22-2012, 12:06 PM
Hey


I took a really simple base mesh from maya and sculpted a high res mesh i mudbox.
We can't waste any more time so I was thinking of creating automatic uv's in Mudbox...So is displacement,bump and texture map going to look good in maya.Uv's look like bunch of squares so is it going to render good in maya,?

sorry for my english

thanks "-D

oglu
05-22-2012, 01:15 PM
yes it will work if you have enough texture resolution... most of the time you will need more than one uv tile to get a clean result.... cause mud needs a min resolution per face...otherwise it will bleed into the other faces... you could do a quik test and paint on your mesh... if you get bleeding artefacts you need more uv tiles...

i recommend to do proper uvs... get the headus uvlayout demo its the best tool out there...

skobot222
05-22-2012, 02:12 PM
Ok...thank's

Do I need to retopologise my mesh.My base mesh is a lot different than my sculpt...But it is a static mesh,a sculpture so I was thinking of extracting maps from level 4 to level 7.Can headus handle dense meshes?

oglu
05-22-2012, 02:14 PM
depends on the mesh... i cant say it without seeing what you have...

skobot222
05-22-2012, 02:33 PM
ok...this is base mesh
http://i1018.photobucket.com/albums/af305/Skobot22/Lamasubasemesh.png


This is level 4
http://i1018.photobucket.com/albums/af305/Skobot22/Lamasulevel4.png

level 7
http://i1018.photobucket.com/albums/af305/Skobot22/Lamasuhighres.png

Only this part of mesh is going to be in video

oglu
05-23-2012, 05:35 PM
think level2 should also work with a dispmap...

skobot222
05-23-2012, 07:10 PM
ok..thank's

CGTalk Moderation
05-23-2012, 07:10 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.