PDA

View Full Version : Double Opteron 248 or dual Xeon 3.20 ghz 1 Mb cache?


pudand
11-24-2003, 02:19 PM
Hello, I'm ready to buy a new workstation and I would like to know what do you think about these configurations:

1 Sys workstation:

- Processor Intel Xeon dual processor 3.20 GHz, 533MHz FSB, 1 MB L3 cache
- Motherboard Iwill DPI533-SATA, 2 USB 2.0 ports, 4 PCI slots
- Memory Crucial 2 GB, PC2100 DDR, 4x512
- Hard Drive Seagate Cheetah 73 GB, 15000 RPM, Ultra320 SCSI, 68-pin
- 2nd Hard Drive Seagate Cheetah 73 GB, 15000 RPM, Ultra320 SCSI, 68-pin
- Hard Drive Controller Adaptec 29320A-R
- External Hard Drive Western Digital Series II USB 160 GB, 7200 RPM ATA/100 2 MB cache USB 2.0
- Front Panel I/O Teac floppy drive, 1.44 MB, 3.5''
- Video Card PNY Quadro FX 3000 (OEM), 256MB, AGP 8X
- CD/DVD Drive Lite-On 52X CD-ROM, ATAPI
- 2nd CD/DVD Drive Plextor 708A DVD+R/RW, software DVD
- Sound Card Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
- Speakers Creative Labs Creative Inspire 6.1 6600, 7 pieces
- Case Chenbro SR20505, Mid Tower, 80+90mm fans
- Power Supply Enermax 460W
- Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop, wireless keyboard, wireless - optical mouse PS/2, USB
- Mouse SYS Scrolling, USB
- Modem Jaton WinCOMM V.92, 56K/V.92
- Network Card Integrated, 10/100/1000
- Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
- System Restore FarStone RestoreIT! Personal (OEM), CD included, factory-installed software is protected
- Warranty Three years parts, three years labor

Total $7,912.00 http://www.sys.com


l Xi MTower 64MP

l 2 x AMD Opteron 248 64Bit 1024KB Cache 2 Way HyperTransport
l 3072MB DDR PC2X00 Registered ECC Interleave for 333MHz Opteron M.Ctrl.
l nVidia Quadro FX 3000 256MB DDR2 AGP-8 Dual Head
l 73GB 15000U3SCSI-320+MB29320 Adaptec
2 73GB 15000RPM USCSI-320
l HD Ctrl. According To Motherboard and HD Type Selected
l CD-ROM 52x Speed ATAPI
1 DVD+RW/+R-R SONY DRU510A 4.7GB 24X/10X/32X w/media
l CreativeLab Live Audigy2 Platinum 6.1 3DWaveT. Digital w/FireWire Ports
l 56K Modem int. V90HW Hardware/Fax PCI US Robotics
l 3Com 3C996T Gigabit Server Copper PCI 1GB. Net.Card
l Logitech Z5300 5.1 280W THX Certified 5P+ SubW
l Logitech Cordless MX Duo Keyb.+Cdless Mouse Rechargeable
l Logitech MX700 Cordless Optical Mouse 5 Buttons
l Windows XP PRO Workstation CD-ROM w/manuals/act.reg.
l Microsoft Office 2003 Professional on CD-ROM
l Tyan Thunder K8W S2885 AGP-PRO to 16GB 4+4 1GB Ethernet - SATA RAID Firewire 1394 -
l Three Years Parts & Labor HW FOB
l Xi MTower Silver-Tool Free-Front 2USB-10 bays-420W UL PS-3xBB Fans.

Total $8,814.00 http://www.xicomputer.com


+ 2 monitor 21.3" VP211B Viewsonic ThinEdge ultra-slim LCD 1600x1280NR
+ l Pinnacle PRO-ONE RTDV PCI Video Editing w/Real-Time DV Output & SW

I already have 1 external Lacie Dvd +-RW, 1 external Hard Drive Lacie 120 Gb, 1 external Hard Drive Iomega 80 Gb. I use Maya and Adobe Video Collection Professional.
What do you thik about the 2 systems? Has anyone bought a system from these companies above? (I'm sorry that Alienware is not selling yet systems like above). My own preference is going to the Opteron system for 2 reasons:
- I will use this computer at least for 3/4 years and I would like to be able to use 64 bit technology;
- I have an AMD XP 3000 that is really fast with rendering Maya scenes (3 times faster than my old double CPU SGI 320), so I think that Opteron should be very fast too (more than Xeon?).
But Opteron is just now coming out in the market and I don't know about it's stability.
I would be happy for any suggestion.
Thank you.

MimikOctopus
11-24-2003, 07:53 PM
i've never bought a system from either of those companies, but I had a custom built system from Monarchcomputer.com that is similar to your opteron system. For $65 they let me pick the parts and put it together, $49 for a 3 year warranty and $11 per processor for thermal grease. check em out they have great prices and do a good job.
My specs
Dual Opteron 246
2gb pc2700
quadro fx 3000
raptor SATA 10,000 rpm
52x burner
matrox rt.x10
some other gizmos I paid about $6000 total without monitor or anything else I already had it and some external drives. I would recommend you trim a lotta fat off your system specs if you alread have 200gb of external drives and a dvd/rw, I doubt you will really get such a benefit for the money by adding more than 1 15,000 rpm hard drive. And with an external DVD burner I don't know why you would need 2 optical drives. And why buy a GB ethernet card when its on your motherboard already? and I would skip the 56k modem unless you don't have broadband, you're looking to buy a lot of stuff that's just "frills". I think you are buying a lot of stuff you don't need now, get the important stuff like the processors ram and video card and put the rest of the money in the bank and wait till you fill up your hard drives before buying more, you'll at least earn some interest on it and get better stuff down the line.

MadMax
11-25-2003, 02:58 AM
Originally posted by pudand
l Xi MTower 64MP

l 2 x AMD Opteron 248 64Bit 1024KB Cache 2 Way HyperTransport
l 3072MB DDR PC2X00 Registered ECC Interleave for 333MHz Opteron M.Ctrl.
l nVidia Quadro FX 3000 256MB DDR2 AGP-8 Dual Head
l 73GB 15000U3SCSI-320+MB29320 Adaptec
2 73GB 15000RPM USCSI-320
l HD Ctrl. According To Motherboard and HD Type Selected
l CD-ROM 52x Speed ATAPI
1 DVD+RW/+R-R SONY DRU510A 4.7GB 24X/10X/32X w/media
l CreativeLab Live Audigy2 Platinum 6.1 3DWaveT. Digital w/FireWire Ports
l 56K Modem int. V90HW Hardware/Fax PCI US Robotics
l 3Com 3C996T Gigabit Server Copper PCI 1GB. Net.Card
l Logitech Z5300 5.1 280W THX Certified 5P+ SubW
l Logitech Cordless MX Duo Keyb.+Cdless Mouse Rechargeable
l Logitech MX700 Cordless Optical Mouse 5 Buttons
l Windows XP PRO Workstation CD-ROM w/manuals/act.reg.
l Microsoft Office 2003 Professional on CD-ROM
l Tyan Thunder K8W S2885 AGP-PRO to 16GB 4+4 1GB Ethernet - SATA RAID Firewire 1394 -
l Three Years Parts & Labor HW FOB
l Xi MTower Silver-Tool Free-Front 2USB-10 bays-420W UL PS-3xBB Fans.

Total $8,814.00 http://www.xicomputer.com


+ 2 monitor 21.3" VP211B Viewsonic ThinEdge ultra-slim LCD 1600x1280NR
+ l Pinnacle PRO-ONE RTDV PCI Video Editing w/Real-Time DV Output & SW

I already have 1 external Lacie Dvd +-RW, 1 external Hard Drive Lacie 120 Gb, 1 external Hard Drive Iomega 80 Gb. I use Maya and Adobe Video Collection Professional.
What do you thik about the 2 systems? Has anyone bought a system from these companies above? (I'm sorry that Alienware is not selling yet systems like above). My own preference is going to the Opteron system for 2 reasons:
- I will use this computer at least for 3/4 years and I would like to be able to use 64 bit technology;
- I have an AMD XP 3000 that is really fast with rendering Maya scenes (3 times faster than my old double CPU SGI 320), so I think that Opteron should be very fast too (more than Xeon?).
But Opteron is just now coming out in the market and I don't know about it's stability.
I would be happy for any suggestion.
Thank you.


A number of questions pop up here. Although I'll start by saying that Xi's price is a bit high.

3072mb ram? How is that being split up??

You are likely to be paying a premium for that Sony DVD drive. Pioneer DVR-A06 is only about 140.00

Audigy. Why in god's name do people still buy this crap? Personally I would dump that and see if you can get an M-Audio Revolution 7.1 audio card. You will be way happier with that.

why ae you adding a gigabit ethernet card when the K8W has built in giga lan?

And I would second the idea of going to Monarch.

Pick the parts you want, and let them do it. It costs less than paying the overhead that places like Xi tack on to the cost. that 8K plus price is way over what it would cost you at monarch.

Boa
11-25-2003, 06:59 AM
This tecchannel review might be of interest for you:
http://www.tecchannel.com/client/components/311/index.html

MimikOctopus
11-25-2003, 08:01 AM
yah make sure you have equal ram on each processer and use 2 slots on each to get the dual channel benefit. I was gonna do 1.5gb RAM but some kindly sould on this board told me to make sure each processor has equal RAM to get the full effect. Forgot who, he was so helpful.

pudand
11-25-2003, 02:38 PM
Thank you all for your help.

- MimikOctopus and MadMax:

thank you for yours suggestions, I'm asking a quote to Monarch right now (I've had already tried to configure a workstation at them site, but I could choose an FX 3000 card). I'm buying only 2 HD 73 gb 15k, but the reason why I was going to buy an extra HD it's beacause I've lost many files that were stores in my SGI HD that is gone, plus many CD I've burnt are not working anymore (I'm a little bit paranoic...). I've made a mistake with the GB ethernet card. I'm going to put 4 GB of memory to my system, I didn't know that memory works at equal ram on each processor (I love this site because you can learn a lot of things). I've decide to change the Pinnacle PRO-ONE RTDV with Pinnacle Liquid Edition Pro 5.5, because the last looks like more professional.

- Boa:

thank you for the link, now I've one more reason to choose Opteron 248.

Thalaxis
11-25-2003, 04:29 PM
Another possible alternative to the Audigy btw is Terratec's
Aureon line.

I have had good experience with Sys... were they not able to
come up with an Opteron 248 config? When I got my first Athlon,
that's where I got it; I e-mailed them a list of components and
asked for a quote. They gave me a pretty good price.

MadMax
11-25-2003, 04:54 PM
Just a thought on Pinnacle editing.....

Why?

You are priciing out a very powerhouse system. Pinnacle almost seems like a creul joke to use on such nice hardware.

What are you editing? Do you have a video camera of your own yet?

If I might suggest, give a look at In-Sync. They have a product called Blade, it is currently on version 2.2. It is a software based encoding system, and will edit native 24p footage as well as standard DV. Is this a big deal? it could be.

One of the most popular cameras around right now is the Panasonic DVX100 which is a progressive scan camera, it's best selling feature is the ability to shoot in 24p and 24p Advanced modes.

Blade is very well designed, I have heard people comment that it is like a cross between FCP (Final Cut Pro) and Avid. (FYI I do use Blade also)

Another good possibility is Avid Pro. Avid Pro is very expensive, 1695.00 However there are ways to get it a lot cheaper. Search eBay for oder versions of Avid, like a 2.0 or 3.0 DV Express, then you can buy the upgrade for 295.00

I purchased 3 licenses from Avid, then bought 3 additional licenses using eBay.

Thalaxis
11-25-2003, 05:19 PM
Originally posted by MadMax

If I might suggest, give a look at In-Sync. They have a product called Blade, it is currently on version 2.2. It is a software based encoding system, and will edit native 24p footage as well as standard DV. Is this a big deal? it could be.


Just out of curiosity, is that the same company that made
Speed Razor?

MadMax
11-25-2003, 05:30 PM
Originally posted by Thalaxis
Just out of curiosity, is that the same company that made
Speed Razor?


Yes.

pudand
11-25-2003, 08:54 PM
Thalaxis:

Thank you for your idea about the audio card, I'm checking now about Terratec's products, I can still change my mind. Sys computer can already supply Opteron 248, I will compare thereprices with Monarch system as soon I've an answer from Monarch.

MadMax:

Thanky you for your tips. I don't know if I have enough money to buy Avid, and I can't buy an older version of that software because the most of american sites doesn't sell outside USA. If I get a good price for my system, I will buy Avid. I was thinking about Pinnacle Liquid Edition Pro 5.5 because I saw the specs and they look good (I'm not an expert...), have you looked at that? I have too other software like Premier Pro, Adobe After Effects 6 pro, Adobe Encoder DVD and Adobe Audition, so I don't know what else I need. Now I have a digital camera Hitachi DVD DZ 100, but I have to buy one more professional. I saw the Panasonic DVX100 and I like it (it is cheap too, my budget is about 6 or 7000 $), especially because they can supply an underwater case (I'm a surfer and windsurfer, I'm already excite to shoot sport actions). I will consider that model when I'm buying a new camera.

Any other suggestions are welcome.

MadMax
11-25-2003, 11:33 PM
well if you can't buy Avid, then I would suggest Blade 2.2 at 499.00.

What you need depends on what kind of editing system you plan to build. Home user? Pro system? plan to work on big stuff? HD? SD only?

Mine has dual Opteron 246
4gb memory
LSI Logic SCSI Controller
4- Fujitsu 146gb SCSI Ulra 320 drives
1- 36.4gb SCSI audio drive
1- 36.4gb SCSI system drive
1-36.4gb Programs drive
1394b add on card
M-Audio Revolution 7.1 sound card
Pioneer DVR-A06 DVDR/RW drive
In-Win i500b memory card reader
Enermax A07FATR (temp monitor and front mounted USB and 1394 ports)
GeForce4 FX5900 video card

"external crap"

M-Audio Firewire 410
M-Audio BX8 Audio Monitors (I went cheap here)
Sony PVM20M2U 20" 16:9 Production monitor
Sony DSR-25 Digital Video Tape Deck
Yamaha Digital audio mixing console
Viewsonic Dual Flat panel LCD's

I am planning on adding HD capabilities later.

Emmortal1
11-26-2003, 02:39 AM
Custom Workstation $65.00 $65.00
Cases: 100158 - PS 430W - Antec Performance Plus 1080AMG $135.00 $135.00
Power Supply: None
Case Fan: 100873 - Antec 80mm Case Fan Quiet Fan 2600 RPM $12.99 $12.99
Motherboards: 110819 - AMD - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF AGP 8X A $499.00 $499.00
Processors: 120437 - AMD Opteron 248 2.2GHz 1MB 64/32 Bit $989.00 $989.00
2nd Processor: 122437 - AMD Opteron 248 2.2GHz 1MB 64/32 Bit $989.00 $989.00
Thermal Grease: 800018 - Shin-Etsu G675 Thermal Grease (Cools $11.00 $11.00
2nd Thermal Grease: 802018 - Shin-Etsu G675 Thermal Grease (Cools $11.00 $11.00
Heat Sink Fan: None
Heat Sink Fan 2: None
Memory: 140958 - DDR (333) 2700 REG ECC - 1 GB Kingston $288.00 $288.00
2nd Memory: 142958 - DDR (333) 2700 REG ECC - 1 GB Kingston $288.00 $288.00
Hard Drive: 600301 - SCSI - Seagate Cheetah 73.4 GB $659.00 $659.00
2nd Hard Drive: 602301 - SCSI - Seagate Cheetah $659.00 $659.00
RAID Setup: None
CD/DVD ROM: 160700 - Sony 16X DVD 40X CD-ROM $45.00 $45.00
CD/DVD ReWriters: 160552 - Plextor PX708A 8XDVD+R 4X2.4 DVD±RW 40X24 $225.00 $225.00
Floppy Drives: 170105 - Mitsumi FDD 1.44 (Silver) 3.5" D359M3 $18.00 $18.00
More Storage: None
Mass Storage & RAID Controllers: 600310 - Adaptec 39320-A-R SCSI Card Kit 64 Bit $335.00 $335.00
Sound: None
Video Card: 190774 - PNY Quadro FX 3000 8x AGP Dual DVI $1,732.00 $1,732.00
Video Capture: None
Modems: None
Operating System: 210111 - Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/CD an $152.00 $152.00
Network Cards: None
Add-On Cards: None
Warranty: 800010 - 3 Year - Parts & Labor - Plus $89.00 $89.00
Hot Rush: None - Standard Order ( ships within 8-13 business
Noise Killer: None
Total: $7,189.99


Straight off Monarchs site.

Emmortal

MimikOctopus
11-26-2003, 02:41 AM
what kind of yamaha mixer you have? I have a 12/4 right now its pretty good but im hoping to get a o1x mlan mixing console sometime in the future. Yamaha stuff is great, its so durable you could drive a truck over it and it would still work. Something about motorized faders just speaks to me.

MadMax
11-26-2003, 04:38 AM
it's the Yamaha 02R96

pudand
11-27-2003, 01:23 PM
I've compare prices between Monarch an Xi systems, and I can tell that there isn't a big

difference ($100 - 200 max) (thank you Emmortal).
Xi shipping cost is very expensive, $ 400! (but if I ask directly to them I think they can

find a cheap solution), I don't know yet about Monarch.

MadMax:

I work especially in the architectural area, for interior and exterior design. Now I have to

use Maya live to mix a real footage with 3d (for es. a brigde set in a real place) and

supply my finish job by DVD. My customers are especially constructors, public and private

companies, so I don't have to make an amazing video with special effects (like for

commercial o something similar), because it should be a waste of time (my clients usually

are very tight...). Do you think my equipment should be good for my job or do I need to buy

something else (for es. extra monitor)?
Just a curiousity: do you use Maya? I'm really curious to know how fast is Opteron rendering

a scene. There is in the Highend3d site a test center but nobody posted an Opteron score.

Anyway, this is the scene,in case you want to try it.

www.real3ds.it/rendertest.ma

I'll be happy if someybody can try it with Opteron system.

MadMax
11-27-2003, 07:49 PM
Originally posted by Emmortal1 Mass Storage & RAID Controllers: 600310 - Adaptec 39320-A-R SCSI Card Kit 64 Bit $335.00 $335.00


IF you are buying a good system, I question if this would be the best card to buy.

I would be far more inclined to suggest the LSI Logic PCI-X controller.

MadMax
11-28-2003, 08:51 PM
Originally posted by pudand
MadMax:

I work especially in the architectural area, for interior and exterior design. Now I have to

use Maya live to mix a real footage with 3d (for es. a brigde set in a real place) and

supply my finish job by DVD. My customers are especially constructors, public and private

companies, so I don't have to make an amazing video with special effects (like for

commercial o something similar), because it should be a waste of time (my clients usually

are very tight...). Do you think my equipment should be good for my job or do I need to buy

something else (for es. extra monitor)?
Just a curiousity: do you use Maya? I'm really curious to know how fast is Opteron rendering

a scene. There is in the Highend3d site a test center but nobody posted an Opteron score.




I've compared renders between Intel and AMD many times with Maya. I usually just don't make much of a deal about going there and posting.

There is a Lightwave page also, and you constantly get idiots that claim to have 10ghz. processors that render the scene in .5 seconds.

Opteron is most definitely faster for Maya by quite a bit.

Whay you quoted out should be fine.

3Dfx_Sage
11-29-2003, 03:49 PM
overall system II looks much better to me.
note on the sound: you need to decide if you want to do any gaming at all on it. If you do, and you care about game in sounds, don't get the M-Audio or Terratec. I just got a Rev 7.1 and am RMA'ing it. Music-wise, its fantastic, I couldn't ask for a better card. For doing recordings, it's untouchable. The problem is that the VIA Envy24HT has NO directsound or directsound3D acceleration. Basically this means crap-for-games. If you can't use hardware buffers then you cant use things like the advertised EAX. I'm going back to my Turtle Beach Santa Cruz which if I cold boot my machine it doesnt start for some reason, i have to restart it... but its better than the Rv 7.1

Emmortal1
11-29-2003, 05:52 PM
Max: The LSI logic wasn't listed in the spec build on Monarch so I picked the next best thing the Adaptec. Also noted that the 39320-A-R is a 64bit 133mhz PCI-X Controller.

Emmortal

MadMax
11-29-2003, 06:19 PM
I was only commenting that LSI was a better controller.

Emmortal1
11-29-2003, 06:23 PM
Ah yes, agreed.

Emmortal

pudand
11-30-2003, 11:59 AM
MadMax and Emmortal1:

I've found an article at the Adaptec site that shows a comparison with the Adaptec 39320 versus LSI logic 22320, where the first outperformed the second in all the applications they tested. I don't know if this is true, because it comes from Adaptec site and it is normal that they push there products. What do you think about this? Here is the link:

http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/product/markeditorial.html?prodkey=39320v22320#1

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.