PDA

View Full Version : Subdivision Problem

TiSOy
11-24-2003, 08:37 AM
Im kinda new to lightwave, and I dont know whats the problem and maybe u can help me,,,,,,,When I subdevide a poligonial object and I tried to rotate it, for some reason it turns super slow. Can u pls tell me what may cause this problem? or What do I need to improve it......:p

Miyazaki
11-24-2003, 08:48 AM
LOL.
Naturally the refresh rate depends on your system specs and the complexity of your object. And make use of subpatching. Subpatch objects have a faster refresh rate than their polygonal froozen counterparts.

SplineGod
11-24-2003, 08:59 AM
Originally posted by TiSOy
Im kinda new to lightwave, and I dont know whats the problem and maybe u can help me,,,,,,,When I subdevide a poligonial object and I tried to rotate it, for some reason it turns super slow. Can u pls tell me what may cause this problem? or What do I need to improve it......:p
Hit the O key and lower the subpatch level. :)

TiSOy
11-25-2003, 02:09 AM
Thank u very much,,,,,I will try that........

vapulus
11-25-2003, 03:19 AM
Yeah, if you're trying to get a subdivided object, just select the polys and hit the tab key. I think that's more what you're looking for. That lets you change the mesh density on the fly in layout, too.

leigh
11-25-2003, 03:29 AM
When an object goes into Subd mode, it uses more memory since the model essentially becomes more complex (because of the subdivision level), so naturally it slows your computer down a little :)

rickycox
11-25-2003, 01:38 PM
Try to be ecconomical with Polys, keep the poly count down as low as possible.

TiSOy
11-26-2003, 04:32 AM