PDA

View Full Version : Long way to go ...

jfelrod1960
11-23-2003, 08:20 PM
I have been a C/C++ programmer for about 10 years now and I have a long way to go for things like game programming, OpenGL, etc.

Start by just learning how to program. C++ would be tough for a first language but it is done by a lot of folks. Once you've got a handle on the programming language then start with the technologies that make graphics and game programming possible.

This may take a while so have patience.

Good Luck!!! :thumbsup:

Darkor
11-26-2003, 11:28 AM
I don't see why people recommend not starting with C++. This gives the programmer all the experience he needs to tackle any other language that he'd like to use. I can't say I'm more experienced that you, but I do have a lot of hands on experience for the last 3-4 years.

Design patterns are quickly becoming an industrial standard for creating just about any type of software. Even if a coder might not be able to create DX or OpenGL programs, a good OO programmer will still be more important in a team.

If you can do small graphic demos, that don't mean you can create an entire game. So I guess what I'm trying to say, is have more patience! :)

ngrava
11-29-2003, 05:44 AM
First off, I am nowhere near the point where I could call myself a programmer. I've been studying and writing little programs in C++ and scripts in Python, LScript and MEL for a while now but I've never really written anything that would qualify me as an authority on the subject. Still, I think I do have something valid to say from a perspective of learning to program because I've been doing it for so long. :)