PDA

View Full Version : Question about Houdini Job market

QuentinB
05-07-2012, 09:15 PM
I've been doing most of my 3d work in c4d for the last several years, and before that I worked in max and softimage a bit. For a long while now I've wanted to get into Houdini, however, I'm based in NY right now and rarely see postings for Houdini work.

Does any one have a suggestion about how one could go about finding Houdini work and what one should focus on starting out? I know, its a really hard question to answer but I would love to dive head first into the program.

olson
05-08-2012, 02:49 PM
Download and install Houdini Apprentice (free and for non-commercial use) and tinker with it for a while if you haven't already. For $99 there's Houdini Apprentice HD which allows rendering without watermarks and higher resolution (still for non-commercial use).

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_download&Itemid=208&task=apprentice

There are lots of learning resources on their site that should get you started. There's a full list of stuff on the right side.

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=192&Itemid=351

There are frequent job postings on various forums and industry groups. Though I don't see many entry level opportunities for Houdini users through those channels, most postings are looking for someone to come in and turn out shots immediately (but there are a few entry level postings here and there).

Internships and apprenticeships are the best way to get hands-on experience if that is a workable option for you. Regardless of how you go about learning it and getting up to speed, learning Houdini when you have someone sitting next to you to ask questions makes it go a hell of a lot faster and smoother.

rurik
05-08-2012, 08:26 PM
If you have Houdini knowledge, make yourself known to SideFX. They are probably interested in knowing about NY based Houdini artists..

QuentinB
05-09-2012, 01:36 AM