PDA

View Full Version : Loading Images as Worlds?

stakk4
11-22-2003, 09:20 AM
Admittedly, I am an extreme noob both to digital media and blender. I was following another tutorial, and it provided a .jpeg image and advised to set it as the background in World. I have been looking all over the World menu, but can't seem to find a way to load an image, as you can with textures. I'm sure its right in front of me and I'm just missing it. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Zenitor
11-22-2003, 11:51 AM
are you using the new 2.30 layout? when they changed the gui i was a bit confused also.....anyway .......
1)click on materials icon
2)click on world icon
3)in the world tab click on the only button <>and choose "create new"
4)new taps open up.... in texture click "add new"
5)NOW click on the texture icon (next to materials icon, rad, world etc, and "add new in the texture tab.
6)select image button, click add image.....

stakk4
11-23-2003, 12:15 AM
Actually I think I have 2.25, I just have only recently started using it. Do you still remember how to do it in previous versions please?
Thanks for your help!

Apollux
11-23-2003, 01:14 PM
I still have 2.25 installed on my computer. The process is basically the same: Create a new "World", create a new texture with the image, and then tell blender to use that texture on the world.

Here are the steps on Blender 2.25 (are the same steps on all versions BEFORE 2.30)

1.- Create a new World
Go to the World Buttons. It is a button with a blue-and-white planet on it, is right next to the button with a speaker on it.
Now look for a button like this [ -- ], click on it and choose "Add New". The button is the second from the right.
All the "World Settings" appear... leave them as they are for the moment.
2.- Create a new texture and load the image
Go to the Texture Buttons. Just press F6 and you'll be there.