PDA

View Full Version : Best choice of path to follow, Community College and Gnomon or other?

JessFrias
04-23-2012, 08:59 PM
Hello, this is my first post and I'm not sure if there's any topic similar to this...But I really need help!
I'm from Brazil and I'm in my senior year. I graduate in December this year and I want to work with something related to 3D, not sure yet of what exactly, but more related to character modeling and rigging or concept art.
Anyway, over here art is not very valued and the education system is different. That caused me to feel a little bit behind when it comes to the basic skills I'll need, such as realistic drawing, sculpting and many other subjects that other people have eventually. I have some experience with Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere, Encore and After Effects. Until the end of the year Iíll have some experience with Maya, but I know I have to get better and that I have much more to learn yet.
I've heard that having a degree is not that important, but I want to improve what I think I'm lacking of and I think that attending to a College would be a good option. I wanted to attend to Full Sail University or Art Institute University but I donít have the money to spend in it and my parents think itís best for me if I attend to a Community College or just a cheaper College and later go to study in Gnomon School (when I have the money to pay for it). What do you guys think is better for me? I know that Gnomon is a very good school but will I have what I need to enter? Will a Community College offer me what I need to create good reels and a complete portfolio?
It would be great if you could help me, Iím really lost.
The College Iím looking for needs to be cheap and as best as possible. Itís locations donít matter that much for me, but preferably in Florida, New York or Chicago, because I have family in these locations and my mom would feel better knowing that thereís people I know near me if I need anything.