PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a script command


zenonithus
04-19-2012, 12:18 PM
I need to know what the script command for adding a mesh to skinwrap modifier is.

Can anyone help?

DreaTawn
04-19-2012, 12:55 PM
append myObj.modifiers["skin_wrap"].meshlist otherObj

Cheers,

Drea

zenonithus
04-20-2012, 08:11 AM
Thanks Drea :)

Though I get this error:

append Sphere001.modifiers["skin_wrap"].meshlist Sphere002

-- Unknown property: "modifiers" in undefined


Think its something to do with the physx plugin? Is there a workaround for this?

Raytracer05
04-20-2012, 08:35 AM
"Sphere001" sounds like the Max name of your object. You need to insert a '$' before the name to access it in maxscript.append $Sphere001.modifiers["skin_wrap"].meshlist $Sphere002

zenonithus
04-20-2012, 11:31 AM
Yay! It works! Thanks for that Raytracer05 :) and thanks again Drea for the initial code.

zenonithus
04-20-2012, 11:59 AM
One more thing if anyone can help as I cant find anything on google :(

I would like to copy the edit poly modifier from sphere001 and paste it onto sphere002

I would also like the same function but this time paste the edit poly modifier underneath another modifier allready applied to sphere002

Any ideas what the script would be for this?

DreaTawn
04-20-2012, 12:13 PM
For your first question...
addModifier $Sphere002 $Sphere001.modifiers["edit_poly"]
That will add an instance of the edit_poly modifier to the top of Sphere002's stack.

To insert the modifier elsewhere, use the "before" keyword argument. The insert point is counted from the top of the stack.

addModifier $Sphere002 $Sphere001.modifiers["edit_poly"] before:1
Cheers,

Drea

zenonithus
04-20-2012, 03:19 PM
Thank you Drea, will try this out :)

Also I'm having a problem with this line when I make a copy of an object

actionMan.executeAction 0 "40213" -- Edit: Clone
maxOps.cloneNodes $ cloneType:#copy newNodes:&nnl

The problem is it always brings up the clone panel which interupts the process. I would just like it to bypass the panel and clone me a copy. any idea why this isn't automatic?

DreaTawn
04-20-2012, 04:03 PM
Just use
copy <yourObject>

zenonithus
04-21-2012, 11:34 AM
Ahh simples! Thanks again Drea :)

DreaTawn
04-23-2012, 09:52 AM
You're most welcome.

zenonithus
04-23-2012, 12:18 PM
Hey Drea,

The copy edit poly works great, though it pasts it as an instance and the edits dont appear to show.

Is there a way to paste it as a copy?

Also the copy object command doesnt seem to work? I replace the obj with sphere001 and nothing seems to happen and the listener doesnt say anything. any ideas why?

cheers

DreaTawn
04-23-2012, 05:32 PM
Ah, I think your in trouble. AddModifier doesn't work in the same way as copy/paste in the UI, so edits aren't copied over. I don't think there's any way to do what you want in script.

For your copy problem, is this the missing "$" issue again? If not, can you try this following and tell me what appears in the listener.
newObj = copy $Sphere001
print newObj

zenonithus
04-25-2012, 08:28 AM
yep that works :) nice one!

CGTalk Moderation
04-25-2012, 08:28 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.