PDA

View Full Version : Student in need of much-appreciated advice...

jasfar
04-15-2012, 09:25 AM
Hi, I am a student currently interested in animation and modeling; I invest a lot of my time drawing, and in using software such as Maya, Blender & ZBrush. I'm in need of help from a CG community such as this in deciding how to go about a future in 3DMA -- more specifically, helping me find a school + major.

To give a bit of background information: I enjoy 3d environment modeling and 3d character animation the most; honestly though, I equally enjoy all the other aspects of 3DMA, from texturing and lighting to rigging and sculpting. Knowing this I would like to expose myself to *many* different specializations of 3DMA, as my focus & interests within 3DMA could very well potentially shift within the next few years. In other words, I don't want to limit myself to just one specialization for my future. I understand that schools like Animation Mentor, Gnomon & iAnimate are widely well-received programs, however I would prefer to go to an institution that isn't primarily based online and is more broad; I realize that I can go to these sites later after I have more carefully chosen my 3d discipline.

I live in the San Francisco bay area. As such, any schools located in Northern CA or CA are preferable, however I'm not geographically-restrained.
The schools that I'm currently looking into are:

* OTIS
* Cogswell
* Academy of Art University
* Expression College
* CalArts
* USC
* CCA
* Ringling
* Pratt
* LMU
* Chapman
* UCLA
* RISD
* Sheridan College
* Laguna College
* MCAD
* SCAD
* Carnegie Melon
* Van Arts
* Vancouver Film School
* Parsons
* SVA
* I'm open to anymore suggestions...

Answer as many or as little of my questions below:

**Question One:** Which school, overall, do you believe is the best for 3DMA? Why?

**Question Two:** Which school(s) would best and most thoroughly expose me to all of the specializations of 3DMA?